First Run Back

After my sports medicine doctor gave me the go ahead to start running again, I decided I should probably get back into the swing of thing… you know, since my half marathon is coming like a freight train!  I started with a short 3 mile jog.

It was a great morning, about 60 degrees, sunny and almost no breeze. I got my MP3 player, my handheld water bottle, and I was off. I wasn’t really paying attention to the pace but I started wondering why this 3 mile jog was so taxing….until my Garmin let me know the mileage and I saw that I was running 9:54 minutes/mile. Yeah. I apparently was a little exited. So, I slowed it down a little, and just held on for the ride. My target mileage for my half marathon is 10:30 to 11 minutes per mile.  My mileage  for this run ended up being 9:54 first mile, 10:34 second mile, and 10:57 third mile. Apparently I need to re-discover how to pace myself 🙂  So, now I need to get in one more short- ish run before the weekend, then a long run on the weekend so I will be ready to do my half marathon on the 21st! So excited.

Apparently I looked like I needed "help" with my supermans

Apparently I looked like I needed “help” with my supermans

Oh, and after I ran the 3 miles, my neighbor Sara and I did a little bootcamp for 45 minutes. Her daughter Grace decided to help me while we were doing supermans. Thanks Grace for the help, it was very much appreciated!

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

