When Bad Thoughts Turn into Great Runs

Last weeks run was such a great run that I had to share it with you. I had a 10 mile run that I was DREADING!  I decided to make the best of things and got up early to beat the heat. I had charged my Garmin and my MP3 player, so I was ready to go. I filled my water belt, made sure to not forget my Gu for fuel, and headed out the door. It ended up being a great run.

unnamed[1] (4)The run started by my house. There was absolutely no one on the roads so I felt like I could take up the whole lane (I didn’t…safety first of course).   It was a glorious 60 degrees and overcast, which made it fantastic to run in. Not too hot, not too cold and not a ton of humidity.

There was a lot of fog in the fields at first, which made it really surreal to run in, and felt like it dampened the sound; making it eerily quiet.

unnamed[2] (4)The fog soon burned off though, just in time for all the neighbors (are they still neighbors when they are 10 miles away?) started waking up and cooking Sunday morning breakfast.  There is nothing like having a great run and smelling bacon and eggs the entire time!

 

I ended up seeing a deer that decided to run next to me in the field for about a half mile. I tried to take a picture but didn’t want to stop for fear that I would scare it off. It kept running with me and looking at me every so often. I decided that it didn’t look like it was going to attack me….so I just went with it 🙂

unnamed[1] (3)

I am truly blessed to live in a beautiful place, that is for sure!

It was a great run, and I averaged about 10:52 / mile pace, which is pretty darn good. I stopped at about mile 5 to help some little girls find their dog. So, in addition to getting a great run in, I also got good Karma points 🙂  Cannot beat that.

I hope you all have a great Labor Day.

Happy Running

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

