My Next Big Thing, The Capital City Half Marathon!

I am so excited to tell you something, I almost cannot wait.

As you can tell, Harley is not nearly excited as I am

As you can tell, Harley is not nearly excited as I am

I have been training for the Mackinaw City Great Turtle Half Marathon in October, right?

 

Well, I jumped the gun and started my training plan a little early this year….about 18 weeks before the actual race….I know; 18 weeks is a long time to train for one half marathon. I totally could have just run a marathon in that time frame. Kill me now! That’s just crazy talk though. The half marathon is plenty for me.

So when I started to fizzle a few weeks ago (summer running sucks let’s chalk it up to the heat), I started looking for small races that I could enter to keep me accountable.  The problem is that most of the races I found were held on September 27th which is our wedding anniversary and I didn’t feel like that was very nice to make Nathan spend our anniversary on the sidelines, or home alone. Sad, right?!

 

My requirements for the race was that it had to be a 10K or half marathon, had to be on specific weekends where I did not work (obviously) and not on our anniversary weekend, and it had to fit into my training plan. So, I was very pleased to see that the Capital City Half Marathon in Lansing fits all of those requirements. I am so excited. I registered for it and everything, so it is a go. Best part is that it is close to home, and I can always stay over at the in-laws after the race with Nathan and hang out before riding home in the car. Bonus! I may live to regret this, but for now, I am super excited…so, let the countdown begin!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in running, Summer Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

