The Best Cheap Training Log Ever!

Hi all. I am not lost, I swear! I don’t know what has gotten into me….Actually, that is a lie. I could totally say that I was busy, yada yada yada, but we all are busy. The truth is, I have just not WANTED to update. Isn’t that awful to say? I have been so busy running and playing with Harley and working, that I just have not wanted to sit down and blog about running….and playing with Harley…and working…sorry…
ready for the park

But, here I am now, so lets just get down to business.
Training has been going GREAT! I have been running my little fanny off. I have lost about 30 pounds since January of this year, just by running and training for races. I try to keep an eye on my diet and eat healthy foods, but in the spirit of honesty….I totally eat the junk food too. Just the other day, I had a banana split, and it was fantastic!

Let’s talk training logs. At the start of the year, I wanted to create a training log that I could log all my workouts  and write little notes so that I could track my progress. I looked all over the internet and found all sorts of notebooks and training logs that I could buy, but none seemed versatile enough to fit my needs. So, I decided to just make my own.

exciting, right!!

exciting, right!!

I bought a Cambridge spiral bound notebook (I think it has 120 pages) and I decided to draw bold lines in marker on the pages to divide the pages into 8 squares. I labeled the squares with the dates and day of the week, with one square left over for notes and goals. I have decided that I LOVE this notebook!

Last week training log

Last week training log

It doesn’t take any time at all to draw the lines in the pages, and I tend to do about 10 pages at a time, so I only ever have to prep the notebook about 3-4 times per year. That satisfies the lazy side of me! After my Hurt the Dirt half marathon, I taped my Hal Higdon training plan onto a page, and wrote what I liked/ didn’t like next to it, so when I sought out a training plan this time around, I totally knew what I was looking for. I tape my current plan that I am using in the inside cover of the notebook so it is always within easy reach. That satisfies the OCD side of me.

 

Now I can look back at each week and easily figure out what my times were for my long runs, what my speed work was prior to the Hurt the Dirt half marathon, and if I am losing my momentum. All for about $1.99. which satisfies the cheap frugal side of me.  An added bonus is that I can dedicate pages in the front/ back to what races I want to run or what gear I want to buy and also dedicate pages after my races to diary what I liked/ didn’t like. That way, next year I can look back and remember if I wanted to run that race again.

 

I would totally recommend journaling your workouts to keep you accountable, and if you are a cheapskate like me, then this is totally the way to go.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

