Krupp Farms Strawberries

Strawberries are on RIGHT NOW!!

I get super excited for strawberries during the summer. I almost missed them this year because the winter was so long. It just doesn’t feel like it should be time for strawberries…but…I drove past Krupp Farms and the sign was out.  So, over vacation, of course I HAD to stop by.
I was really nervous that they would not be open because it pretty much downpoured every single night over our vacation, but I picked a bright and sunny morning to go down there and they were open.

strawberries2

I ended up getting 30 pounds of strawberries. I know what you are thinking…what is a girl to do with that many strawberries?  To tell you the truth, I think I am obsessive compulsive when it comes to fruit 🙂  I started out thinking that I would get one flat (about 12-15 pounds if you pile it full). At $1.50 per pound, that is a bargain. But, as I was picking, I realized that the strawberries looked so big and juicy… and alluring apparently, because I went and got a second flat. My thought was that I would do a lot of strawberry jam and strawberry rhubarb jam this year, so I wanted to have some left over just for eating.

strawberries

Yeah, it only took me a little over an hour to pick 30 pounds of strawberries. I immediately know the error of my ways as it took me ALL DAY to wash and prepare them 🙂  Then came the problem of stowing them. My fridge and freezer was full of strawberries for the next couple of days. I spent all day one day jamming. Now I have about 3 batches of freezer jam just begging to be eaten. We used the last of the strawberries this morning on top of pancakes. Wonderful!

 

If you are in the area, stop by Krupp Farms to pick up some strawberries for yourself before they are all gone.  They are super helpful and will always tell you when they are planning u-pick times. If you don’t want to pick them yourself, they do have already picked strawberries available.

Address: 8025 Krupp Ave NE, Comstock Park, MI 49321

phone number: (616)- 887-8271

 

Do you get a little OCD about fruit picking or is it just me?

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment