Time for new running shoes, woohoo!

I have been loving this summer weather. I was depressed as hell getting kind of down because I thought that the summer was almost over. I’m not sure what I as thinking, but Nathan pointed out that we are not actually into the summer months quite yet 🙂  I think that all this thinking about training plans for my October race was playing mind games on me.

running

Anyways, I have been making an effort to run everyday during my vacation because I just LOVE early morning runs, and I rarely ever get to do them. I usually have something going on in the morning on the weekends, whether it is boot camp with the neighbors or grocery shopping at the crack of dawn (we try to get to the store and back by 8am on Saturdays). So, while on vacation, seize the day, is what I say.

harley2

Since I was not really on a training plan last week :), I felt like I could stop and take lots of pictures of the beautiful surroundings without feeling guilty. I LOVE where I run. It is fantastic with lots of hills (I don’t like that quite as much) and lots of wildlife.

I also have been thinking about getting new running shoes. I currently have the Saucony Guide 6 running shows shown here. I have the purple ones. I love Saucony shoes. I always think that I should branch out and try different running shoes but I always end up coming home with the same shoes, just the newest model. (I had the Saucony Guide 4 before these).

I have problems with over-pronating and Achilles tendonitis, so I am pretty picky about my shoes. I have been having a problem with the Saucony Guide 6’s due to my right pinky toe and my right big toe rubbing against the sides of the shoe causing callouses. It doesn’t hurt, just looks like gremlin feet. I was pleased to hear that the newest Sauconys have a slightly broader toe box, so I am hoping this will solve all my problems. I will let you know how it goes. I was curious about how many miles I have put on these shoes, as it seems like I just bought running shoes. On further evaluation, I actually bought them in January right at the beginning of my half marathon training. These shoes have lasted me about 250 miles. I also wear these shoes for bootcamp and walks with Harley, which also puts unneeded stress on them.  My knees and shins are starting to ache after runs, even the easy ones. When that happens, I know new shoes are in my future! I think I will keep these and use them for walks and bootcamp, and dedicate my running shoes to just running.

Speaking of bootcamp, here is our bootcamp workout we did on Saturday morning. It was a great workout and was really good and working those running muscles!

(click on the picture to make it bigger so you can read it….I know…technology 🙂

WORKOUT 1

Do you have more than one pair of running shoes at a time?

How many miles do you usually get out of running shoes?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Summer Fun, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

