Anybody Else Got the Itch for a New Racing Plan?

I don’t know what it is about this summer, but I have caught the running bug something fierce!

005

Last winter, I started running just to stay fit. I had tried to run in the past but always got shin splints, so over the winter I got serious and saw a sports medicine doctor. He told me my error of my ways…I was running but not doing any other form of training. So, with adding cross training into my schedule along with weight training, my shin splints are good as gone.

So, I ran my first half marathon in April, and decided that I was done with training plans. I was tired of following someone else’s idea of what my runs should be. I wanted to rekindle the love of running just to run, not to beat some time or distance that was pre-determined for me. So, I took a week off running. Then another. Then I started running, but only 1-3 miles, never fast.

Look who I found on my long run this week.... we are kindred spirits, I tell ya

Look who I found on my long run this week…. we are kindred spirits, I tell ya

Then, over the last week, I got the running bug again. I have a dilemma though, because my 12 week training plan for my next half marathon doesn’t start until the first couple weeks of August. So, what is a girl to do?

I am running a 5K this Friday with a friend of mine, so that has kept me busy for the last couple of weeks. But, what next, you say?

Donkeys during a long run

Donkeys during a long run

I wanted to run the Traverse City Half Marathon in September, but that is the weekend of our anniversary, and Nathan didn’t want to hassle with spending the night in a hotel, running that race, then driving across the state to visit my mom (its her birthday that weekend too), all in the same weekend. The further I looked into it, I also noticed that I work the next 2 weekends after that race, and then my half marathon is 4 weeks after. I am not sure I can swing that and still give the Mackinac Island half marathon a fair shot.

Then, I decided that for the next 4 weeks, I am going to do a “get faster 5K in 4 weeks” plan which will help me re-establish my “base” of mileage, as well as get me a little faster before I focus on my distance running again.  That lasted all of 2 days and I got antsy.  I mean, speed work is all well and good, but I really want to do a DISTANCE PLAN!!

Weeks SUN MON TUES WEDS THURS FRI SAT Total
1: JUNE 22-28 S/S 3 2 or XT 3 30 min XT REST 3 11
2: JUNE 29-JULY 5 S/S 3 2 or XT 3 30 min XT REST 4 12
3: July 6-12 S/S 3.5 3 or XT 3.5 40 min XT REST 5 15
4: July 13-19 S/S 3 3.5 or XT 4 40 min XT REST 5 15.5
5: july 20- 26 S/S 4 3 or XT 4 40 min XT REST 6 17
6: JULY 27-AUG 2 S/S 4 4 or XT 4 40 min XT REST 7 19
7: AUG 3-9 S/S 4 4.5 or XT 4 50 min XT REST 8 20.5
8: AUG 10-16 S/S 5 4 or XT 4 50 min XT REST 8 21
9: AUG 17-23 S/S 4.5 4 or XT 5 50 min XT REST 9 22.5
10: AUG 24-30 S/S 5 4 or XT 5 REST REST 10 24
11: AUG 31-SEPT 6 S/S 5.5 4 or XT 5 60 min XT REST 10 24.5
12: SEPT 7-13 S/S 5 4.5 or XT 4.5 60 min XT REST 11 25
13: SEPT 14-20 S/S 5 4.5 or XT 4.5 40 min XT REST 12 26
14: SEPT 21- 27 S/S 5 4.5 or XT 4.5 40 min XT REST 12 26
15: SEPT 28- OCT 4 S/S 5 4 or XT 4.5 60 min XT REST 10 23.5
16: OCT 5-11 S/S 5 4 or XT 4 60 min XT REST 8 21
17: OCT 12-18 S/S 4 3 or XT 3 30 min XT REST 6 16
18: OCT 19-25 S/S 4 3 or XT 2 2 mile walk optional REST RACE 11

So, I made my own plan 🙂  I combined all the good parts of the Hal Higdon’s Novice Half Marathon (the cross training and strength/ stretch days), but added more weeks and a little bit higher mileage in the middle so I could really feel confident about the half marathon distance. The S/S means “stretch and strengthen”, XT means “cross train”.  (I actually combined the Hal Higdon plan with another random plan I found on the internet, but wouldn’t you know I cannot find the random plan, so I cannot give them credit!! I am such a bad blogger. If this looks familiar to you, email me and I will totally give you credit).

The good news is I start this week. The bad news…..I start this week 🙂  Be careful for what you wish for!

Tired but happy Harley after a walk/ run session

Tired but happy Harley after a walk/ run session

Do you have a love/ hate relationship with training plans?

What training plans have you used in the past, and what were your thoughts?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Half marathon, Harley, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

