Vacation Week

I am so happy to be on vacation, I cannot tell you! I worked the weekend and although it actually was a great weekend to work (not too busy, not too slow), and I got out 1/2 an hour early on Sunday, emotionally I was finished. So, Monday I slept in a bit until about 7am and then went for a run while Nathan mowed the lawn. It was a great day, if not a little too warm and sunny for my taste.

Beautiful day for a run

Beautiful day for a run

I realized that I had only run about 3 times last week, so I decided to take a slow 4 mile run. I started running at about 9am (I just had to sit in my PJs and have some coffee on my first day off !!), and that ended up biting me in the fanny. By the time I finished, the sun was super bright and super hot and it was starting to get a little muggy. Guess I need to make a mental note to start early.

I chose to run the back roads around my house, which coincidentally is full of rolling hills. I LOVE to run on the dirt roads though, and it was just what I needed to have a mental break from life. I ended up walking about a mile and jogging slowly for the rest of the time. On my way, I found this little guy.

baby bird

He was not afraid of me one bit, and I even walked up to him just to make sure he was alive. I was afraid for him because he was in the middle of the road and I could just see a truck come barreling down the road and squashing him. I did everything besides actually touching him to get him out of the road, and after about 10 minutes, he just slowly hopped all the way across the road and into the ditch…Weird.

It has been too warm to take Harley for a walk lately so I am missing our little outings. He helps me in the garden though, which we both enjoy. It is supposed to rain all week (it rains every time we take a week of vacation) but we are hoping to get out there a little  on Thursday. We will see.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

