Weight loss challenge week 1

023 (6)

This week was the first week of project “Deer Run Gets Fit Fast”. Since I started my half marathon training plan in December, I have steadily been losing weight without trying very hard. Total I think I  lost about 15 pounds. It was a mixture of eating a little cleaner so I could run without having a sugar crash, as well as just the act of running more that caused that weight loss. Lately I have not been running nearly as much due to finishing the half marathon in late April. So, I was afraid that I was going to gain it all back in the “off” training months.  I have been happy to say that I have been able to continue to lose a little weight. I weighed in for my first week of our weight loss challenge, and I weighed 167.8 lbs. That means I had lost about 5 pounds since finishing the half marathon!  Woohoo!

 

So, my official weigh in is Thursdays. I don’t have a scale at home, so I am weighing myself at work on our office scale. I plan on increasing my activity little bit over the next month (I have a 5K that I am getting ready for at the end of the month), as well as getting back to my clean eating roots. Already, I have cleaned up my eating just knowing that I have to report my weight to the group 🙂  Ah, the power of peer pressure!!

 

To end the week with a bang, the girls and I got together for a 45 minute boot camp session yesterday morning. I was in charge of the workout so I picked core and legs to focus on. It was a doozy of a workout, and I am happy to report that I am SORE today! I barely could get out of bed this morning. That is a sign of a great workout.  In case you are wondering, here is the workout we did. Definitely do it if you want jelly legs tomorrow.

Found this on Pinterest and it is my motto for the summer!

Found this on Pinterest and it is my motto for the summer!

 

LEGS/ABS WORKOUT: 45 MINUTES

(2 minute intervals with 15 seconds rest between each set, do as many as you can of each activity in 2 minutes)

  • 5 minute warm up run
  • sumo squats with leg lifts
  • lunges
  • pushups
  • situps
  • plank

repeat x 3

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

