Last long run…

I wanted to talk about my last long run before race day.  About 2 weekends now (I know, I am such a bad blogger, move on!) I went on my long training run…10 miles.

hilly run, great way to start my first 10 mile run :)

hilly run, great way to start my first 10 mile run 🙂

It had hailed the day before, then rained all night with violent winds. My neighbor was supposed to run the Gazelle Girl’s Half Marathon that day, so of course I was up all night listening to the rain and worrying that her race would be cancelled. It wasn’t thankfully, and she managed to PR, go Sara!

I woke up early because I had to catch a plan at 2pm for Rochester that day. So, I put on all my long run gear…running clothes, special socks, headband, garmin watch, MP3 with headphones, running hydration belt, gu energy gels, running belt underneath the hydration belt so I can carry my phone and pepper spray…and I was off. I usually feel like I am heading into battle on my long runs on account of all the crap I have to wear to make sure I don’t die!

THE DREADED HILL!

THE DREADED HILL!

Usually I go to the White Pine Trail which is a great paved running trail that goes for hundreds of miles across the state. But, in the interest of time, I decided that I would go around my house. I found a good route that took me up and down rolling hills (ok a little more than just rolling) and I even found a little lakeside community. The weather was fantastic. It was still a little damp from the rain, but no flooding so that was great. It was 50 degrees, overcast with a very gentle breeze. The perfect weather if you ask me. I was sad to see that about 2 miles away from my house, all the houses had no power so the lucky ones that had generators were scrambling to get theirs out.

 

I ended up doing a great 10 mile run, complete with the biggest hills I have ever seen, and that is saying something. The pictures just don’t do it justice. I am totally going back there to do my interval hill training in the future!

After this race in tomorrow (Woohoo!!), I think I will do a few 5K or 10K races over the summer and then another half marathon in the fall. I think I will keep up the long run though. I never thought I would say this, but I really enjoyed it. I didn’t care what my time was, I just ran until my watch beeped that I was done. It was pretty nice!

Today, since I am still resting before the race (tomorrow, Woohoo!) I think Harley and I will go to the park for a nice walk with my “fancy camera” that I haven’t had out since last year. It’s been a cold cold winter, so it will be nice to get out and enjoy the weather.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Half marathon, Spring, workout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

