Catching up

Ever feel like you are going a hundred miles an hour and still getting nothing done?  That’s how I have felt these last few weeks.  There has been so much that has been happening since I last posted. By the way, that was 22 days ago…oops!

Can we please do something fun today?

Can we please do something fun today?

Harley is not impressed with all the shenanigans that have been going on.

First, I have been running like CRAZY! My half marathon is in 2 days, and I cannot be more stoked. I honestly did not think that I would stick to my training plan as well as I have. I used the Hal Higdon half marathon novice plan and I loved it. It incorporated running as well as weights and cross training so I never got bored and I really felt like I was becoming a more well-rounded runner. I usually suffer from shin splints and this time around, I was able to do my long runs without pain, which is huge for me!  I attribute it to more cross training and strengthening the “non-running” muscles.

running on a glorious spring day, 75 degrees

running on a glorious spring day, 75 degrees

The weather has been great for running lately. Not too rainy, not too warm, not too cold. Lets just keep it up for race day! Can I put in a shout out to the running gods…No rain…for realsies, no rain!

I went to Mayo Clinic for a tobacco abuse symposium and got great information. It totally made my presentation I am doing next weekend come together. I met lots of great people there and even managed to stay on my training plan. What more can you ask for right?  Hopefully after the race this weekend, I can get that presentation finished up and finally be done with that. I am going to start having tobacco related dreams if I am not careful!! I see someone smoking and I have to fight the urge to run up to them and say “You should stop smoking…I have a presentation for you”. Annoying, I know right!?!

Momma, don't be that person!!

Momma, don’t be that person!!

Well, today is a day of errands, cleaning and general laziness. No running until race day, so of course, that’s all I want to do!!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Half marathon, Harley, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

