Busy weekend and enough of winter!

20140228_091102

Hi all. I have just gotten to sit down for a second on this very busy long weekend for me. I am getting ready to do my 9 days in a row at work so today I had the day off. Nathan also took the day off and we went and got our taxes done…woohooo. What fun, right!?!

I also took the day off on Friday and went to a Nurse Practitioner conference in Lansing Friday and Saturday. I hate to spend my weekend like that, but the conference was full of good information. It is a necessary evil if I want to keep up on current practice, so I guess I enjoyed it. It was relatively painless so that was good. The nice thing is that Nathan drove over there with me on Saturday so he could spend the day with his family while I went to the lectures, so that made the commute much nicer.

White Pine Trail...just look at that sunshine!!

White Pine Trail…just look at that sunshine!!

Then Sunday I went out for my long run of 7 miles. It was the first time I had run in a while, so it was sort of brutal, but much needed. It was about 24 degrees with sun shining and light breeze, so really I could not ask for better winter running…unless it was 70 degrees….sigh….

Anywho, it was nice to get out there and see other runners. It was a nice day and the trail was just full of runners and walkers, making it not feel so secluded and lonely out there. Sometimes I feel like I am the only one out there and then my mind tries to talk myself out of running in the cold. On Sunday, there were so many nice people. Everyone was saying hi to each other and exchanging positive vibes. It was really great. When you just run in your house on your treadmill, you forget about the camaraderie that comes with running. I am looking forward to this race in April just to be a part of that atmosphere again. I am also looking at other half marathons later in the year. I have my eye on the Metro Grand Rapids half marathon in October. Not signing up for it though until I complete this one in April. We will see how that goes!!!

Harley on his perch surveying the neighborhood

Harley on his perch surveying the neighborhood

Harley decided that spring has arrived and it was a good time to sit out on the deck…in the 20 degree windy weather. I have to admit, it was nice to see him out there. Now all we need is to have the snow melt asap so that my race in April will not be UNDER 4 FEET OF SNOW!!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Winter, workout and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

