A total fail of a day

Yesterday was a total bust!!!  I had such high hopes of getting so much stuff done and instead it was just a lot of shenanigans. Let me tell you…

What's up there, momma?

What’s up there, momma?

It started off ok. I got up at about 6:30am, fed Harley and poured myself a cup of coffee. Then, Harley decided that he did not want to go down the stairs to go potty. He has been a little nervous about the stairs this year. We think he fell off the bottom step earlier this winter, and now he is really nervous about it. He tests the top step with his nose to see if it is icy before he will put his weight on it. It is actually sort of cute, except once in a while, even on dry stairs, he refuses to go down by himself…and I have to go out with him.  Well, now since we have been having routinely subzero temperatures, the deck makes a cracking sound when you put your weight on it. That FREAKS HARLEY OUT!!

 

So, now, he refuses to even step foot outside of the house. That means that yesterday, when the temps were zero degrees with huge wind gusts, I am out there on the deck coaxing Harley out of the house. Not cool.

DSC00667

I finally decided that I had lost the battle after standing out there for 10 minutes with Harley still refusing to step foot outside, so I let him out in the front yard…where he promptly poops right in the middle of the driveway. Awesome! At least it wasn’t on the front step, I guess. Small victories.

 

After that fiasco, I warmed up a little with a second cup of coffee, did some blogging, answered some emails, and paid the bills. All before 9am. I was on a roll.  I decided to do some laundry and pick up the house. That’s where the day went downhill. I went downstairs to do laundry about 5 times, and every time I would eye the treadmill and think….”I’ll just wait a little before I run”. There was always an excuse…I was too tired…my lower back hurt…my legs were sore… really I was just super lazy. I ended up not running at all (for the second day in a row mind you!) and went for a massage. I had planned on leaving a little bit early since the roads were bad, but I promptly got stuck in the driveway. Awesome!

My wonderful neighbor came home at the exact moment I got stuck in the driveway. I’m sure he LOVED watching me get stuck, and being the nice guy that he is, he promptly came over to help push…in blowing winds….and subzero degree weather. I would have totally just called the massage therapist and cancelled, but he helped and after about 10 minutes of digging and pushing, my car was liberated and I was off.

*Special thanks, Scott, really*

So, my massage was great, I had a ton of tight spots that we totally worked out. Then, when I got home, Nathan and I had to shovel a path so we could get the quad with the plow out. That took a while.  But we finally liberated the plow, and Nathan plowed the driveway and was SUPER happy about it…by the way.

 

After that I totally just sat in the chair and was super lazy. No dishes done, no vacuuming, nothing.  And definitely no running. FAIL!

 

The bright spot was that I had put a roast in the crockpot so we had dinner waiting for us, cause we totally would have ordered pizza last night if I had not thought ahead. Win for us!!

Backyard where the fence is supposed to be

Backyard where the fence is supposed to be

On a side note, while I was outside digging the quad out of the snow, I saw the huge amount of snow in our backyard. It got me thinking, so I looked up average snow fall for this area this time of year. We are so close to setting a record!  We now have 107.7 inches of snow, and are in second place for the snowiest year. First place was 132 inches. I do not want to break the record for first place, by the way. Lets get that right out of the way.  We are supposed to get more snow this year, but I keep hoping that is will warm up soon. Currently it is -8 degrees with blowing snow, and it feels like the frozen tundra out there. Harley once again is refusing to go outside, and I am also refusing to go outside. So, we are at an impasse.

 

If nothing else happens today….I have to go running!  Oh, and the dishes are done already this morning, so that’s a plus.

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

