Winter running

DSC00694Hi again. I just realized that I had written a huge post about my running expeditions from my tablet and I felt bad about it all week because it was just this huge post, no pictures, no frills. Then, today I checked in and noticed that it never uploaded! Now I don’t know if I feel worse that I wrote a post without any pictures or anything, or that I inadvertently ignored the blog 🙂 Oh well. Sorry guys!!

I have been loving winter running lately! I am a person who totally hates winter. So, imagine my surprise when I decided that I was going to do my long runs outside, no matter what the temperature, and I ended up actually liking it! I started 2 weeks ago Sunday with my long run of 4 miles. It was soooo cold (about 9 degrees) but no wind so I thought I would risk it. Once I got out to the trail, I realized that there was about 5 inches of snow on the trail. I managed to do 4 miles but it took me 62 minutes and some extra seconds. I totally could have walked faster than that! But, I did it and I lived through it. My legs were dead tired though.

DSC00681

Cut to this Sunday when I did 4 miles again, but this time it was 23 degrees, no wind and the trails were groomed. It was a much easier run and I completed it in 50:06! I loved this run. Too bad that Harley could not go (he doesn’t do well with the long runs), he would have loved it. Instead, we did manage to go outside this weekend and look over all the snow in the yard. Notice how tall the snow is…Harley could totally just walk over the top of the fence if he wanted to. We are keeping a good eye on him, but he doesn’t seem to notice this possibility yet.

Let’s get to the workouts:

Sunday-run outside 4 miles/ 62:20–not my finest hour!

Monday- walk in waist to knee deep snow with Harley- 30 minutes, then 20 minutes stretch, 20 minutes arms and abs workout

Tuesday- Treadmill basement 3 miles/ 38:09

Weds- crosstrain at the YMCA 20 min bike, 20 minutes pool laps

Thursday- YMCA treadmill 3 miles/ 36:56

Friday- rest

Saturday- snowshoe/ cross country ski in the backyard with Harley, snow shoveling the deck, about 45 minutes total

I am enjoying this half marathon training plan so far. Here’s to a great week 3 this coming week!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Half marathon, Winter, workout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

