Workout roundup

Hi again. As you may know if you have been keeping up with this little blog of mine, my training plan for my 1/2 marathon officially started on Monday. Of course, it happened to fall right in the middle of my long stretch of working in the hospital. Couple that with the crazy weather that turns my 45 minute commute into 2 hours, and it was a recipe for disaster. I had to change the timing of the workouts a little, because by Weds, I was just so over it that I needed to take my rest day early. Never fear, I made up for the change and now am back on schedule.

 

I was having a hard time figuring out what type of cross training I would do, cause this is what I am faced with this month!

20140130_163856

I have a treadmill in my basement, and I bought a bike trainer for the basement as well, but that was going to get really old. Also, my bike is out of commission for a while so the trainer is not functioning at the moment. I finally broke down and bought a membership to the YMCA. It is located right on my way home from work, so it will be easy to get in and get out. I thought it was going to be super busy, but once I took a tour inside, it really was not bad. I usually do not like to do the gym thing, but this is actually really great in that there is such variety. I will be mostly sticking to using the pool and taking spinning classes, but it is nice to know that I can use the weights, do yoga or strength classes or even play basketball if I want to. I did try out the treadmills at the YMCA and while they are super fancy, I like mine at home better 🙂

002 (2)

Harley is not a fan of me leaving the house. He likes it better when we run outside, although I think this weather is even too cold for him.

So, let’s get to the workouts.
Sunday-rest and getting ready for the training plan 🙂
Monday-stretch and strengthen:10 push ups, 20 tricep dips, 30 bicep curls, 40 sec plank, 50 knee tucks (plank position with alternating knees to chest), 40 sec plank, 30 bicep curls, 20 tricep dips, 10 push ups, 50 sit-ups plus 30 minute yoga and stretching
Tuesday-Treadmill 3 miles/ 38.47
Weds- rest—-bought a new bathing suit.
Thursday- first time at the YMCA: 3 miles on treadmill/ 38.09 plus strength training with arm weights/ abs, plus 30 minutes pool laps
Friday- cross-training with spinning class x 45 minutes
Saturday- cross-training hopefully with pool laps unless we get the 10 inches of snow they are forecasting, then it will be walking on the treadmill at home.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Weekly Roundup, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

