Things I am loving this week

057

I usually am sooo cheap it is not even funny. I am the sort of girl who shops online for things but never ends up buying them. For instance, I used my old camera everyday until it broke, then I went about 2 years before buying a new one. I only bought a new camera because Nathan started asking why I don’t take pictures anymore, and I finally confessed that my camera broke and I was too cheap to buy a new one. I still have the broken camera in my closet, buy the way….because I just cannot bring myself to throw it away. 🙂  I know. It’s a problem.

 

Once I started looking for a training plan for my half marathon, I realized that I needed to expand my fitness regimen beyond running. I mean, there is only so much running one can do in a week. All of the blogs I am reading and all of the advice I am getting says to do something else besides just running. I knew that I would not want to join the gym, because, you know, I hate gyms. Every time I join a gym, I go for about 2 weeks, then I start loathing it. I hate waiting for the treadmills, having to wipe other people’s sweat off the machines…yuck!!

 

So this week, I went on a shopping splurge for all things fitness related. I already have my treadmill in the basement, my old TV that I had just sitting down there is now connected to cable (thanks again Nathan!!), so I was halfway there. I decided the cheapest and easiest way to “crosstrain” was to buy a bicycle trainer. I already have the bike in the garage, and so I started looking at bicycle trainers. I settled on this one.  It got really good reviews and it didn’t break the bank. I figured it would last quite a while (hopefully). So, next order of business is to reorganize the basement and make extra room, and then set it up.  I am so excited to use it. The only downfall is that my bike is actually hanging from the rafters of the garage OVER the Camaro, which Nathan tells me cannot be accessed until spring. He poo pooed the idea of trying to lift the bike over the car.  Apparently, that is an accident waiting to happen?!?  Who knew 🙂

He is not willing to risk his beloved Camaro for my training plan.

So, the plan is to use his bike until spring and then switch it.  I think it will be fine.

 

Next thing that I bought was an MP3 player. Right now, I am using my smart phone as a GPS to track my mileage and my music player thanks to Pandora. I figured if I am going to really start upping my mileage, I probably should get a real MP3 player so I don’t get my phone all sweaty and gross. So, I settled on this one.  I LOVE this MP3 player. It was really easy to get all my music onto it. It’s super light, super small, and it allows me to use a 16 gig memory card that I already had, which turns this little player into a HUGE storage device. I am now going through my music and making playlists. So fun.

 

I also bought new shoes, which I am taking back because they are so insulated that my feet BURN UP in them. I thought they would be great, and they probably would be good for running outside, but I cannot stand them when I run on the treadmill with them. I have actually stopped running on the treadmill so that I can switch my shoes since my feet were so warm. Weird, right! So, back they go.

 

I bought running spikes, which I already talked about in a previous post, but still LOVE.  It makes running in the ice really easy and MUCH safer. Bonus right?!

I also splurged and bought a running jacket because I hate to run outside and I am trying to bribe myself 🙂 Its this one from Saucony and I love it. I wore a light wicking t-shirt, then a very light long sleeve running shirt and this jacket in 10 degree windy weather and was perfectly comfortable. It’s nice that it has reflective accents on it too, so hopefully people don’t mow me down on the side of the road!  It’s all I can do not to buy one in every color 🙂 Totally worth the price tag.

Now the only thing left to buy is a Garmin watch, but I think I will wait a little on that one. I am pretty much running most of my runs on the treadmill, so I can wait a little bit before I splurge on that. I like getting new toys but you can’t get them all at once!

 

Well, now I am off to settle the basement.  Wish me luck!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

