Prepping for my first half marathon

002 (2)

Hi all. These weeks are just FLYING by! I have been completely immersed in reading all I can about half marathon training. Here is what I have learned and already knew but didn’t think about:
-It’s not as intense as the full marathon (obviously)
-It’s still pretty dang hard
-People still seem to cry at the finish
-Trail running is much different than road running (and a ton different than treadmill running)
-I totally am a planner and NEED to know what I am in for
-I was better off know knowing!
-I may be over my head!

010 (3)

I have been ramping up my running so that I will have a good base for when the actual training will start. I have been looking at TONS of training plans and I have settled on Hal Higdon’s 1/2 marathon novice plan. It takes you from running 3 miles several times weekly, to the half marathon in 12 weeks. The only thing I don’t like about it is the longest run prior to the actual race is 10 miles. My half marathon is a trail run, and so that is getting into my head a little bid. Most of my running has been treadmill time, so that is even more scary for me. So, I am tweaking the plan a little bid and starting a week early so that I can run 12 miles as the long run prior to the race. I don’t think it will make a huge difference in my ability, but I think it will make a huge difference in my mental state. Since I am changing the plan a little, that means that I need to start training next week!  I liked this plan because it incorporated rest days, cross training days  and stretching days so I feel like it is really well rounded. I will let you all know how I like it after I finish the race 🙂

Just for fun I decided to google Luton Park (where my half marathon will take place). I wish I hadn’t. It kind of scared me. Here is a little taste of what I am in for. Yeah…scary. My biggest fear (besides having to go to the bathroom in the middle of the race…I am not into pooping in the woods) is that I will be the slowest person there and will have a line of people trying to pass me on a very narrow trail and they will all be sending cursing thoughts my way! I know, I am crazy!

DSC00622

I also bought these ice spikes from the local running store, so I can start running outside. My neighbor (who runs a ton and is much tougher than I am) told me about the ice spikes. They don’t look like much, but they are little rubber covers that fit over your running shoes and they have tiny little spikes on the bottom that grip the ice. I tried them out and they were fantastic. So, I promptly went to buy some of my own. I am looking forward to trying them out on a longer run. It has been raining pretty consistently yesterday and today so all our snow is going away, and we are left with very icy streets. My neighbor texted me and said that the trails were passable, if not a little icy yesterday, so I am hoping they are better today. I have always been very leery of running on the ice since I tend to be very clumsy, but I am going to have to get over that! So, I looked at the temperature this morning and it is a balmy 34 degrees. And it’s not raining, which is the main point. So, I think it is perfect weather to attempt the trails today. Wish me luck!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Half marathon, Winter, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

