Workout Roundup

004 (2)
Time for this week in workouts. I have been running a lot lately trying to make sure that I have a good base before I start the half marathon training. I have been looking at other forms of cardio to get a more well rounded workout regimen. I have decided that I am going to get a bike trainer (this one in fact) Hopefully this will give my knees a little break, allow me to use different muscles, and provide a little bit of variety throughout the weeks. Especially in the winter when the weather is not cooperating. I HATE running on the treadmill for every workout!

DSC00625

So, here was last week:
Sunday- walk outside with Harley 3 miles/ 54 minutes. It was SUPER icy out and it was slow going, but I used a lot of core and stabilizing muscles that I didn’t even know I had!
Monday- treadmill intervals 2 miles / 24.07 minutes- 5 mph x 5 minutes, then intervals of 5.5-5.8 mph for 60 secs, then 90 sec rest
Tuesday- rest- knees were really sore and left Achilles very tight
Weds- treadmill 3 miles/ 37.48 minutes in the am. Ran with Harley in the yard x 1 hour in the evening in knee deep snow
Thursday- rest- very tired and knees very sore
Friday- rest- knees still sore
Saturday- treadmill 3 miles/ 38:24 minutes

This week was rough as by the end of the week I was totally spent. So, my goal has been to do 15 miles per week. This week I decided to listen to my body and take a breather. I feel so much better today. I also need to buy new running shows as I think mine are at the end of their lifespan, and once I start increasing my mileage, they will really be toast. I want my shows to be completely broken in by the time the race gets here! I am trying to get more running time outside so I can be prepared for the trail run in April. At least for my long runs. I have been trying to incorporate intervals, long slow runs and more stretching into my weekly workouts. I also have decided that I better get a little faster or my half marathon will take me 5 hours. 😦 I think that will come once I start upping my mileage.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Winter, workout and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

