Merry Christmas with Chocolate Covered Pretzels!

While I was busy NOT working out last week, I put together a little something for the medical assistants in our office. Harley of course watched from afar and supervised.  He was bummed after I told him he could not have any chocolate. How sad!

003

We have a HUGE office. There are 21 physicians, 2 nurse practitioners, 1 physician assistant, and a TON of medical assistants. So, I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what I could do for them that would not break the bank.  I decided that I would make festive chocolate covered pretzels. They are so fun and so easy to make, although if you are making enough for, say, 50 people, they are decidedly more time-consuming 🙂

I bought a large tub of pretzel rods, dark chocolate chips, mild chocolate chips, mini M&Ms, nut bits and red and green sprinkles. One night when Nathan and I were watching TV, I decided to give it a go. I started by putting the chocolate chips into 2 separate bowls and microwaving each bowl for 30 second increments for a total of about 2.5 minutes each. Stirring in between. I then laid out a large sheet of tin foil to place the finished pretzels on.

I then just dipped each pretzel into the chocolate of my choice and then while each chocolate covered pretzel is still wet, roll it in the toppings. I especially liked the M&M covered mild chocolate pretzels. Delicious!

20131218_071910

I put them on a fancy Christmas plate, and they were done. All in all, I think it took me about 1.5 hours to finish the project. It was time well spent. They were a big hit.  I will definitely make them again.  (Don’t judge the awful picture! I took it at 5am before I went to work).

I was just sitting here thinking back to those pretzels and having slightly sad thoughts about not having more of them, and who should come over, but my neighbor Sara with chocolate covered pretzels of her own for us!!  Its like she read my mind 🙂

Have a Merry Christmas everyone!!  And stay safe on those roads, will you?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

