Getting into the Christmas Spirit

image

This week has been a week full of all things Christmas. After Thanksgiving, I was just waiting to put up my Christmas tree and start with the holiday music. Then, I’m not sure what happened. I just sort of fizzled!  So, this week Harley and I gritted our teeth and started pulling out the Christmas decorations. There was a little bit of a fiasco with the tree this year….I could not find it 🙂

Last year, I don’t even remember putting up a tree. I don’t think I did. Some years are like that in the Harley house. We just get sort of bah humbuggy. So, when I cleaned out the basement this year, I distinctly remember thinking “I’ll put this tree and all the ornaments in one spot so it will be all together”. Well, apparently that almost happened. All the ornaments and decorations were in one corner of the basement, but no tree. I had a vague suspicion of where it was and I was afraid… very afraid. Harley and I searched for about 20 minutes before my suspicions were upheld and I found the tree, underneath everything else in the back of the closet in the basement. Once located, we were in business.

Harley started out very excited and was sniffing out every box.  It quickly took a turn for the worst 🙂
image

We don’t have a lot of space in this house, and I am not a person who likes a lot of clutter, so if I do any decorations, it usually is just a lonely tree. It sits on top of the coffee table so its out of the way. Sad, I know. When we bought this house with the big window in the living room, I had visions of a beautiful 15 foot tree all lit up. That was 10 years ago, and we still have our little tree we had in our first apartment. I love it though 🙂
image

It did not take too long to get the tree up, lit and all the ornaments hung. As usual Nathan helped with aesthetics by identifying any bare spots. I am known for putting all the lights and ornaments on one side of the tree. Not sure why that is, but we have to redistribute occasionally.  I love to take time while I am putting up the tree and think about all the ornaments. Most of them have a sentimental value. Like the one when we bought our house.
image

Or the ornament that I actually sold as a fundraiser when I was in the fourth grade. I sold A TON that year!

Or the one when we got Harley. Actually there are quite a few of when we got Harley, but we won’t talk about that. For a while I got on a kick that every year I would take a picture of Harley and make it into an ornament. Which was actually really cool until he became full grown and all the ornaments looked the same 🙂
image

I even found my little ceramic village that I used to collect when I was a teenager. I used to love collecting those little villages and would get each piece as a present each Christmas. That was back when I had lots of extra space in my room. Once I moved here I never put them up again. I finally found the perfect space this year, on the coffee table ledge. It lights up the dark area under the table and actually makes it kind of homey. Harley enjoys looking at them too.

image

image

So, I am so glad that we got out our decorations this year. I needed a little holiday cheer in my life. Now we just need to get some presents under the tree and we will be golden.  I just lost the Christmas spirit again!!!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

