Happy Thanksgiving!!

 

Hi all. I just wanted to take time before all the holiday shenanigans to wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving. My side of the family had our Thanksgiving celebration on Saturday since I have to work all weekend this weekend. It was really nice to see everyone. I had 7 people over plus Nathan and I of course, so it was just enough people to really feel like you were cooking for people, but not enough to feel overwhelmed.

Mom and I in my too small kitchen with the famous rolls

Mom and I in my too small kitchen with the famous rolls

I made my usual Thanksgiving menu of a 20 pound Turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potato casserole, cranberry sauce and rolls. The rolls were the best by far, if I do not say so myself. I didn’t even manage to get a picture of them, so sad. They were the last thing out of the oven before we ate, and the moment I set them down they were devoured. That is a sign that they are good 🙂 I will post the recipe below.

Mom trying to wrangle all of the dogs...and not having any luck

Mom trying to wrangle all of the dogs…and not having any luck

We also had my moms dogs Baxter and Daisy, and my brothers dog Piper. So cute. Harley loves playing host to them and ran himself ragged trying to keep up with them.

Meet Piper

Meet Piper

After dinner we all sat around and talked. We ate at 3pm so it wasn’t long before everyone had to leave for their long trip home. It was awful weather up north so I was glad to hear everyone made it home safe.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before they left Daisy had to get her cuddles in.

We tried to have quiet time

Valiant effort Tonya!

Valiant effort Tonya!

We finally all calmed down right before everyone had to leave.

Wake up Josh!!

Wake up Josh!!

It was FREEZing in our house too. Nathan kept opening the windows to let the humidity from the stove out, and it felt like it was about 60 degrees in there.

So here’s hoping to everyone having a great Thanksgiving day. Be safe in all those storms across the country!!

 

 

 

Sweet Dinner Rolls- from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

1/2 cup warm water

1/2 cup warm milk

1 egg

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup white sugar

1 tsp salt

3-3/4 cups all purpose flour

1 (25 oz) package of active dry yeast

1/4 cup butter

Directions:

Place all ingredients in bread maker, dry stuff first and then liquids.

Select Dough/ Knead cycle and press start.

When cycle finished, turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, divide dough in half and roll each half into a 12 inch circle.

Spread 1/4 cup butter over entire round. Cut each circle into 8 wedges. Roll wedges starting at wide end. Place pointed side down on ungreased cookie sheet. Cover with clean dry towel and put in a warm place. Let rise 1 hour.  (mine rose for about 3 hours on top of the stove).

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400F and bake in preheated oven for 10-15 minutes until golden.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Holidays, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

