Current diet and eating clean take II

Hi. I have been really looking at my diet these last few weeks. For those of you who don’t know, around the start of the summer I decided that I wanted to eat a little healthier. Now, don’t get me wrong, we usually eat pretty healthy. There is never candy or sweets in our house. My philosophy is always if it’s not in the house, I cannot eat it. Unless it is a special occasional like a birthday or holiday, cake is never around. When we want a sweet treat during the summer, I will usually make a smoothy made from frozen fruit stored in our freezer. But, I noticed that we were eating a lot of processed foods in the form of white bread, pasta, and canned foods.

I decided that I would make a conscious effort to freeze a lot more produce from our garden and try to include more healthy options in our diet. I went through and revamped a lot of my recipes to include more hidden veggies like adding 2 cups of pureed swash to my goulash, etc. I knew it was unrealistic to totally cut out processed foods. I mean, I don’t think I can live without my yogurt, my occasional light alfredo sauce or my breads. But now, I try to cut back on them and not have them as much.

So, a couple of Saturdays ago, while I was sitting in the chair trying to conjure up some energy to exercise, I decided to peruse my free apps on my smart phone. I ended up using the  “MyFitnessPal” app. I have been using if for the past 2-3 weeks. Let me tell you, it is really nice!  It allows you to easily track what you eat during the day with the ability to set a little reminder on the phone if you forget to track by a certain time. It also allows you to track your workouts too, and keeps track of your calories. I usually have no idea how many calories are in foods, but this app allows you to just type your food into the search bar and it finds the foods for you. It has such a large data base too. I haven’t had a food that wasn’t in the database yet. Most of the time even the exact brand of food is in there, so you can be reasonably assured you are counting the correct calories.  One extra added feature that I like is when you finalize your day of tracking, it tells you how much you should weigh in 5 weeks if you continue eating like you ate that day. That really puts it in perspective. We will see in 5 weeks if it is actually telling the truth 🙂

So, all in all, I really think I am going to like the MyFitnessPal app. I will do an update in 5 weeks to see where I will be. I am starting out at 175 pounds, on a 5″4″ frame. In one month I hope to lose 5-10 pounds. From now on, every time I weigh myself, I will add my weight on that weeks weekly exercise update to help keep me accountable over the winter holidays. (I don’t own a scale, so the weeks that I am in the office I tend to weight myself once that week).  I’m hoping this app is really going to make me rededicate myself to eating clean and healthy most of the time.

Again, sorry for no pictures. I am totally working on my stockpile!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in fall and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

