Fall has arrived!

Fall has finally arrived like a steam engine here in Michigan. It seems like just a few weeks ago I had the passing thought that summer was going on for way too long and that I could use a little autumn weather. I had to immediately take my temperature as I LOVE summer and usually shed a tear every year when summer leaves us. After that thought,  I proceeded to enjoy every last bit of summer with trips to the Nature Center, the park in Rockford, and boot camp with Sarah. Then I went on my trip to the University of Michigan a week or so ago, and when I came back, this is what I found…

035 (2)

Yeah…sad isn’t it!!

fall at the Nature Center

fall at the Nature Center

Now, everywhere I look, there are signs that summer is definitely over.   Luckily, there is still time to get out and enjoy the Nature preserve, which is Harley and my new favorite place to be.

018

In the spirit of prolonging the nice weather as long as possible, Nathan, Harley and I went up to Cadillac to meet the rest of the family for Joshua’s birthday. It was full of Pizza Hut pizza (delicious), home-made apple pie, and lots of doggy shenanigans. Harley was very excited!

We got there first and let Harley into the little fence at my mom’s house. That way, everyone could get out of the car without Harley acting all crazy dog.

010

My mom and Dave got there about 10 minutes after us. They brought Baxter and Daisy. Harley could barely contain himself.  He hasn’t seen the puppies in so long!

Daisy

Daisy

Daisy was her usual beautiful self.

Baxter

Baxter

Of course Baxter ran circles around Harley. In all the excitement of the chase, Harley managed to plow right over top of Daisy…she dropped…she rolled.

100She stayed on the deck for a while after that. It’s all fun and games until someone breaks a rib…ahem….

Then Patrick, Tonya and Joshua came. Sadly (and luckily for them) all the pictures were blurry!

015Harley had to get all the attention from Patrick right up front.  This went on for quite some time. He is such a ham!

Then, after dinner and pie, Patrick, Tonya and Joshua had to leave. Mom, Dave, Nathan and I took the puppies out for a nice long stroll through the campground. I forgot how beautiful it is there.

Camp Cadillac in the fall

Camp Cadillac in the fall

For a little back story, my family used to own a campground in Cadillac called Camp Cadillac. When my dad died, my mom sold it to the new owners. We still use the trails there sometimes. If you are ever in the area, stop by and camp for the night. I’m sure the new owners would love it 🙂

After our walk, everyone was beat!

I mean, if this isn’t pure happiness, I don’t know what is!!! Oh, to live a dog’s life!

051

Have a great rest of the week!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in fall and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

