Art Prize

I am glad to say that Art Prize here in Grand Rapids is done for another year. For those of you who do not know, Art Prize is a huge art contest held in early October every year. It started 5 years ago and I truly never thought it would take off like it has. People from all over the nation come to Grand Rapids to see all the different art. The exhibits range from paintings, sculptures, and everything in between. There were some weird things that I saw this year, such as videos of weird hands moving in all different directions while playing voodoo music. Others were really cool, such as a mural of Noah’s ark made from chopped up pieces of crayon

Art prize mural made of crayons

Art prize mural made of crayons

Here is a closer look

012Yeah, it was really cool.

 

Mom and I just went for the day. Art prize is a place that you can spend a week and not see all the venues. This was my first time going (I do not like crowds and would never go on a weekend!). This is the first time in a long time that I have had weekdays off, so we thought it would be a nice way to spend the day.

 

I knew that there were maps of where the art was, but it was really difficult to find said map. I am not sure why, but it was. Here is what I learned for next time:

-There is a “hub” set up downtown where there are maps, people to answer questions and point you in the right direction for all things art prize. This is your first stop. Make sure you get a map…a real map, not just a “top ten” listing. We got a top 10 listing, and were really confused about where to go. We only had about 4 hours, and spent a lot of it just walking around Grand Rapids looking for random art. Not super efficient or fun, let me tell you.

 

-Art Prize is situated all around Grand Rapids, meaning that you need to wear comfortable shoes because you will do some walking. It was nice to get out of the house and stretch our legs, but we did lots of walking. If you spent the entire day down there, you would be extremely tired at the end of the day. I decided small doses of art prize is best.

 

-It is best to go during the week unless you want to fight huge crowds of people. I personally am not one for crowds so we went on a random Tuesday toward the end of the art prize showings. It was still SUPER DUPER BUSY. We did not see a lot of things because we felt it was too busy to get into the venues. On the weekends, there are lines wrapping around the buildings for a lot of the venues, so bring you patience with you!

 

Overall I had a good time. Here were some of the highlights of our day.

Glass sculptures in the Museum

Glass sculptures in the Museum

 

 

More glass sculptures. I really liked these :)

More glass sculptures. I really liked these 🙂

 

Huge Painting that was beautiful from far away, but when you looked at it closely, it was full of weird brush strokes and odd things.

Huge Painting that was beautiful from far away, but when you looked at it closely, it was full of weird brush strokes and odd things.

For a complete list of the top 10 that people voted for, as well as the winners, go here.

There were also churches that I could photograph. Some day I want to just go downtown early on a weekday and just photograph the buildings. There are some beautiful buildings down there.

016

 

013Overall it was a great day. If you are in the area or looking for something different next year in September and October, think of Art Prize in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I am totally going next year and spending some time down there. The only sad thing is that most of the venues are indoors, so I couldn’t take Harley. Next year maybe I will take him down there just to look at the large sculptures outside. He would love that!

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in fall and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

