Vacation at The Shack

Well, we are back and fully rested from our weekend to The Shack. We went there for our anniversary. It is year 7 for us. My how time flies! Let me tell you a little bit about it.

016 (3)

The Shack, contrary to the name, is a huge resort that is over 100 acres of log cabins, hiking trails and lake smack in the middle of Jugville, which is a very small town in the middle of nowhere. The closest towns are Freemont and White Cloud. Both very tiny. And very quiet.

What do you mean I can't go?!

What do you mean I can’t go?!

Anyway, I was not sure what to expect. The Shack is about 55 minutes from our house, which makes it easy as we have to have the in-laws watch Harley for the weekend. Sadly, The Shack does not allow dogs. Its just about the only downfall to this place 🙂

We drove up and the first thing we see is this enormous log sign that is all lit up and kinda impressive. I totally wanted to get a picture of it, but it was raining and I just didn’t have it in my to get out in the rain to take a picture. We drive up to this huge main building that probably is bigger than the cafeteria at the hospital, no joke. The lady at the front desk was really warm and inviting.  The room was a fireplace and hot tub room that was really big, and super clean. I am totally a stickler for cleanliness and get pretty grossed out by staying in hotels, and even I was impressed.

011 (4)

This place was built for relaxation. The lighting is very dim in the rooms making it very tranquil. Even the hallways seem like you could be in a spa, they are so quiet.

036 (4)

There is a lake that is beautiful. They have paddleboats in the summer that is free of charge to use. There are walking trails as well. They have a little museum that is filled to the brim with an odd collection of tractors, Cadillacs, and old timey cooking equipment. Sounds weird but it is kinda charming. There is also a little chapel.

The Shack offers both breakfast and dinner all weekend. They also offer banana splits every night.  We stayed Saturday and Sunday night, so I am not sure what they do during the week.  Another downfall for us is that the meals are only offered for about 1/2 hour. Breakfast was from 8-8:30, and dinner was from 6-6:30. This was the only downfall. For a place that seems to be entirely made for relaxation and lounging, the food choices are lacking. We did not make it for breakfast either day but dinner was a choice of chicken or beef, mashed potatoes and vegetables. Which is fine, but you only have a 1/2 hour to make it.  On Sunday they had soup and salad which I thought would be a bust, but it was actually very good. It was a choice of homemade cream of chicken soup or beef and barley. Again, the time frame was only a 1/2 hour long. So, you spend the entire day lounging and wasting time, and then you have to really be aware of what time it is and plan accordingly. The banana splits at night were really good. The owners who are about 75 years old, scoop out huge scoops of your choice (there are about 10 different flavors) and then you add your own toppings. They had strawberry topping, pineapple topping, chocolate sauce and bananas of course. They did not have nuts, cherries or whipped cream topping but those are all things I hate, so it did not matter to me at all. All the ice creams are Hudsonville ice cream, and very good. I never ever eat banana splits so it was a nice surprise.

002 (5)

We ended up getting there a little late on Saturday and missed dinner. We both were not very hungry after a long day of getting ready and travelling, so we ended up going to White Cloud (about 15 minutes away) and got a light dinner at Subway.  The next day, we went to lunch at Spanky’s Pizza in Freemont. It was really good pizza and breadsticks. We ended up getting the medium pizza with pineapple and ham, and the large breadsticks. The pizza was enormous and the breadsticks came with 8 breadsticks that were each a foot long. Sooooo, way too much food, and we ended up taking lots of food back to the room and subsequently back home. The Shack has a fridge, coffeemaker and microwave in the room so it felt like home.  I would definitely go back to Spanky’s Pizza, it was really good, and the pizza sauce was really sweet and different from what I am used to.

The other thing about the Shack is that all the furniture is made of huge logs. Which is beautiful, but our room really needed a little plush loveseat that you could curl up in. The only place to really lay out was the bed, and there is only so much time you can spend actually in bed. I would have liked an easy chair and a big blanket to really get the full lounging experience.

007 (6)

In Freemont they also have artwork on each corner made of hay bales. I am not sure why, but I got a huge kick out of these. There was everything from a hay bale wagon, teenage mutant ninja turtles, peace signs, and huge pigs, all made of hay bales. I had to have Nathan pull over so I could photograph my favorites 🙂 I love going to small towns because you never know what you are going to see. Life is so different in little towns, you know?  In one of the towns, they did not even have cell coverage….I mean….NO CELL COVERAGE!  That sorta blew my mind. Sad, I know. 🙂

011 (5)

We ended up coming back on Monday morning early, so we could go get Harley from Lansing. Check out time was 10am, which seems a little early, but we left way before that so it did not matter. So, overall, I really liked The Shack. It might be nice to go in the summertime since it was a little cold and rainy while we were there but it was still really fun. It was nice because the fireplace came in handy. For people that like to be entertained every minute on vacation, this place is not for you. This place is for the couple that wants to get away from it all, leave the kids at home, and just relax.  If I went back there, I would bring a little bit of food and snacks to tide you over between meals, and maybe a comfy blanket to curl up in.  I like vacations where we can just be alone and hang out together. This place was a little too secluded even for us. It would be perfect if you went with a small group or a family get-together though.  Now we are excited to be home with the boy again. We like adventures, but it’s always nice to be home.

I finally bought a treadmill!  I am so excited. It is going to be delivered tomorrow, and of course, I will tell you all about it 🙂

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

