Frederick Meijer Gardens

On Tuesday, before all the craziness with Harley, Mom and Dave and I went to the Frederick Meijer Gardens on Tuesday to take pictures. I had never been there before so I was not sure what to expect.

Sad bear outside the children's section of the Meijer Gardens

Sad bear outside the children’s section of the Meijer Gardens

For you all that are not from around here, it is a garden and sculpture park in Grand Rapids, Mi. They have seasonal exhibits like the butterfly exhibits, themed exhibits and concerts. Now that I have a few days off during the week a month, I can visit places that I haven’t previously been able to go. I had never gone to the gardens because they are really busy on the weekends and I wasn’t sure I would get any good pictures.

Sculpture of a thinking man (not sure what the actual name of it is)

Sculpture of a thinking man (not sure what the actual name of it is)

It was really nice to go on Tuesday. The gardens were beautiful, the greenhouses were warm and wonderful, and the sculptures were huge and impressive. It was a nice time to spend with Mom and Dave as well.

hut and walkway at Meijer Gardens

hut and walkway at Meijer Gardens

The only drawback was that it was 95 degrees out and we walked outside for about 4 hours during the noonday sun.  Since I did not work out at all last week, it was nice to walk and get some exercise.

giant spider

giant spider

Most of the exhibits were outside, and enormous.

"Neuron" sculpture

“Neuron”

It was amazing to see all the sculptures and how detailed they were.

122 (2)

127 (2)

 

 

There were also lots of gardens to look at. That is a whole new post altogether!

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Summer Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

