Happy Birthday to Me

Harley's sister Annie

 

Harley’s sister Annie

I hope everyone is having a great weekend. I was very excited yesterday to go over to the in-laws house yesterday for my Birthday. I am turning a whopping 34 tomorrow. So, Nathan and I loaded up the Camaro and headed over. An added benefit of going over to Lansing this weekend was that I could stock up on the worlds best sweet corn.  I have been looking forward to getting this corn all summer. It comes from Pray Farms in Lansing, and it is the best sweetest sweet corn you will ever taste. Last year, we ended up buying 2 bushels and freezing it for the winter. It was such a treat to open up these little corn packages all winter and somehow made the winter not seem so long. So, imagine my sadness when we drove all the way over there, and the sign at the farm read “we have run out of corn”.  :0.  I almost cried! They will have more on Monday apparently.

 

So, we made the best of it.  I had brought my camera (of course) and so I set out to photograph butterflies and bees. Nathan’s mother has a wonderful garden full of all sorts of wildlife, so I was in my element. Here are just a few of my favorites.

This little guy was the bane of my existence. I could not get him to open up his wings and get out of the shadows for the life of me!

This little guy was the bane of my existence. I could not get him to open up his wings and get out of the shadows for the life of me!

 

107We ended up hanging around the house taking pictures until Nathan’s dad got out of work. After that, we went to Red Lobster for a wonderful meal. I got the stuffed flounder with coconut shrimp and mashed potatoes. This is a shocker (since I get it every time I am there).  I also stole some of Nathans fried shrimp, but who is counting. We don’t ever go to Red Lobster so it was a nice time.  Then, we came back to the in-laws house and opened presents. I got slippers which I desperately needed since my old slippers are actually threadbare. I also got a photography book, 3 quart saucepan and outside lights for the deck.  I also got some money that is going to be added to the treadmill fund I have started. Woohoo!  Overall it was a pretty good day even if I didn’t get the glorious corn 🙂

Annie looking beautiful!

Annie looking beautiful!

I hope you all have a wonderful week.

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

