Clean eating

022 (3)

I have been thinking a lot about the way we eat at our house. I try to be health conscious. We buy our meat from the all natural no hormone no pesticide farm.  I grow most of our own vegetables in our garden and we try to can or freeze as much as possible to last us throughout the year. We buy local whenever possible. But, I keep thinking that there is more we can do to be healthier. With cancer rates on the rise and the obesity epidemic in the US, it gets a little overwhelming.

Enter…clean eating.

I have been looking into clean eating for a few weeks. Apparently, the gist of it is that if it didn’t grow in nature, don’t eat it.  I have been looking at our foods that we have in our cupboards. Even something so supposedly safe as beans seems to have lots of preservatives and stuff that I have no idea what it is.

093

So, I have decided that we are going to make a stronger effort to eat clean. It is going to be a sort of hybrid diet where we will slowly replace the items in our cupboards with foods that are more “clean”, or if we still need certain things…(let’s be honest, I am not giving up cheese and ranch dressing!), at least we will try to find items that have less than 5 ingredients and all of those ingredients need to be things that I know what they are.  Also, I will keep growing our own vegetables and canning/ freezing as much as possible so that we know where our produce comes from.

It is funny that I seem to do this with Harley. I want his food to be the healthiest and wisest choice for him and am always looking for healthy options for bones and treats. HMMMM.

Now I just have to break it to Nathan 🙂

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

