July 4th

015 (3)
Hi all. I hope you all had a great July 4th weekend. Here’s how we spent ours. We ended up waking up bright and early to take pictures of the Camaro in Rockford Mi. Nathan took pictures of his previous car on Main Street of Rockford, and they turned out really well. We thought it would be nice if we reproduced them with the Camaro.  Sadly, it was really foggy that morning (and you have to do it in the morning before all the traffic starts). So, Harley and I spent some time in the garden.

019 (4)

 

Harley watches and makes sure that everything is growing to his liking. It’s a tiring job.

After that, I ended up going Krupp Farms for the last of the strawberries. I ended up picking only 4 pounds. It had rained all night and everything was wet. I absolutely HATE picking fruit in wet weather. I also picked 4 pints of raspberries while I was there too. Note to self, wait until the berries are not damp before you pick raspberries.  They were mushy by the time I got home, and slightly moldy. Live and learn, right?!

Anyways, Harley supervised and watched his rawhide bone while I washed and dried all the fruit.  I also made chocolate chip cookies. They were fantastic.

 

I took over some cookies to the neighbors, and then we went to the Sand Lake fair.  It’s just a little fair that takes up a city block with rides, flea market finds and ice cream. We had planned on taking her children (ages 4 and 2) to get ice cream, but they slept the ENTIRE TIME!!  So, ice cream was held.

 

We did take pictures of lots of flowers. I am in desperate need of color in my kitchen, so I am planning to take on a little project in the next several weeks. The plan is to take lots of pictures of flowers, and then frame the best most brightly colored ones and hang them in my kitchen for color. We will see how it works.  Here are a few I took at the fair.

009 (3)

 

012 (3)

 

015 (2)

Ok. enough of that. You get the picture.  Anyways, when I came home, Nathan had done laundry, the dishes, and put up the awning on the deck. WOOO HOOO!  I should leave him home alone more often!!

We ended the night at the campfire with the neighbors. I had never taken pictures of fireworks before, we my neighbor Sarah and I got out our tripods and took pictures like crazy.  I got some good pictures with interesting effects, but not what I was going for.

ISO 100, F11, 5 sec

ISO 100, F11, 5 sec

 

f-11, 1 sec, ISO100

f-11, 1 sec, ISO100

 

f-11, 1 sec, ISO 100

f-11, 1 sec, ISO 100

I learned that it is really difficult to photograph fireworks for a variety of reasons. First, it is difficult to figure out where the fireworks are going to be in the sky. Also, timing is everything. I had several pictures where the fireworks were depicted like I had planned, but they were not centered in the shot, or I got half of what I had intended to get.  Next time, I would play a little more with the aperture and shutter speed to get all kinds of different effects.  I would have liked a little more definition in the lights.  Oh well, better luck next time 🙂

 

Today I plan on going to the farmers market and making a camera strap….and a lot of lounging. 🙂  Quite a bit of lounging is in order!  I hope you have a great weekend and enjoy the rest of your July 4th weekend.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

