Strawberry Rhubarb Freezer jam

117We have been having so much fun around here we cannot even hardly stand it!  I have been a very busy bee this week. It started out with a full week of work. Everyday after work Harley and I go outside to check on the garden, look at the flowerbeds, and take pictures of the flowers. There have been really good storms over the last week, so I have been really figuring out how to take good cloud pictures. Harley is LOVING the time outside (he really likes it when his people go outside with him!). He is NOT loving the photo-ops. He is getting tired of being my subject 🙂

really momma, are we done yet?

really momma, are we done yet?

Yesterday was Saturday and Nathan had to work. Boo hoo. It was very sad. He is working super hard at meeting all his deadlines, and that meant that I had 2 options. I could have picked up a shift at the hospital….or…..go strawberry picking.  I had every intention of going strawberry picking on Saturday, but then my neighbor called and said that on Thursday night they were offering a U-pick session. I was there with bells on. It was at Krupp Farms again. Boy, every time I am there I decide that is my favorite time to be there 🙂  We were the only ones there (it helps when you start picking at 8pm). I got 15 pounds of strawberries for only about 22 dollars and some change. You cannot beat that.

024 (2)

So, Saturday I had a long list of things to do. I started the day with strawberry washing. I had planned on cleaning the strawberries and taking off the stems on Friday, but it was just not meant to be. So, Saturday was game on for strawberries.

I found a WONDERFUL strawberry rhubarb recipe over at Nancy Baggetts place.  She has a killer strawberry rhubarb recipe. You should totally check it out. I had really sweet strawberries so I tweaked it a bit. Here is what I did:

Strawberry Rhubarb Freezer Jam from Kitchen Lane blog (with a little tweak)

2.5 cups sliced strawberries (washed and tops off)

2.5 cups of washed and sliced rhubarb (washed)

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1.5 cups sugar

1 package no sugar added pectin

In a large bowl, combine sliced strawberries, lemon juice and 3/4 cup sugar. Mix and let stand while making the rest of the jam.

In a large deep cooking pan, combine pectin and 1  cup sugar. Then add rhubarb and 1/2 cup cold water. Bring to boil. Cook until rhubarb is easily crushed with a spoon (4-5 minutes) and mixture thickens. Perform the chilled spoon test to make sure it is thick enough.

Remove from heat and stir in strawberry mixture. Ladle into clean, half pint jars, wipe rims of jar and seal. Leave on counter until cool, then place in freezer to store.

**Next time, I am going to decrease the sugar in the strawberries to 1/2 cup and see how that turns out. The jam was really good but I like my jam a little less sweet. And, the less sugar in there the better for our blood sugars 🙂

If you still have some rhubarb this year, this is a must make.  I will definitely be adding this to my spring line-up.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Recipes, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

