Strawberries are here!

138 (2)

I am happy to report that strawberries are here in Michigan! I usually go to Krupp Farms here in Rockford Michigan for all my strawberry and raspberry needs. I just got an email from the farm saying that strawberry season is finally here. U-pick and already picked strawberries are just waiting for the taking.

166 (2)

Last year I got a little crazy the picking of the fruit. I think I picked about 13 pounds of strawberries, raspberries, and a TON of blueberries. I still have lots of blueberries and strawberries in my freezer. There is just nothing like fresh strawberries though. So, yesterday I seized the day. Nathan had to work on Saturday, so I woke up early and stopped by Krupp Farms. There were already lots of people there. They start picking at 7am. By the time I left, there were roughly triple the amount of people here.

134 (2)

Thank heavens they have lots of strawberry plants. You do not even notice how busy it is!

135 (2)

It was a beautiful day for strawberry picking. Not too hot, not too cold. No mosquitos.  In 45 minutes I picked 11.25 pounds. They rounded down to 11 pounds, and charged me roughly $15.80. That’s $1.40 per pound people! You cannot beat that.

172 (2)

So yesterday Harley and I spent the rest of the day cleaning strawberries, cutting off the tops, making a pie and munching on random strawberries. They were fantastic. I also spent the day taking loads of strawberry pictures. (I am learning a new camera people, bear with me!) If you are in the area, stop by Krupp Farms. You will be glad you did.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden, Harley, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

