De-Weeding the garden

083

This week has been such a whirlwind for me. I am not sure why. I’m taking pictures like crazy with my new camera. I love it.  I have also been trying to get my front flowerbed completed and it has been taking forever. Here is the story.

I have a slightly raised flowerbed in the front of my house. Usually it does not take very much work. I have always been able to just plant flowers in it once, and forget it. Then, about 3 years ago, I received some flowers from a friend. I had been looking for a flower that would fill in a space between my driveway and the walkway as this usually got washed away by rain coming off my roof.  I vaguely remember her saying nonchalantly, “put these flowers in a place where you don’t care if they multiply”.  Yeah. Apparently that means….”it will grow vines over everything else in the flowerbed and up the walls of your house. It will sprout white roots all over the place and look like crap.  It will jump 4 feet from one flowerbed to another and take over the entire place”. Thanks Perri…thanks!

019

So, now for the last several years, I have been diligently weeding the flowerbed every couple of weeks, which is far too few and always seems to be a huge job. This is what my flowerbed usually looks like (this is me trying to keep up with it… and failing miserably). Then Pinterest called to me and I was on the hunt. I came across a technique for weed control and I am hoping it works. I weeded the flowerbed. Then place 2 sheets of newspaper over the dirt, make sure the newspaper comes up really tight to the flowers and any borders in the garden. Then, put mulch over the newspaper and water. I was skeptical but desperate so I thought, “what they heck, I’ll try anything”. It actually has worked out really well.

021

I weeded the entire garden, and then only put the paper on half. I thought that if it did not work, I didn’t want to go through the hassle of putting paper over the entire garden and then having to tear the paper out if it was a huge mess. The paper has been down for about a month. It has worked beautifully. I have not weeded the papered half of the garden since I put the paper down. The best part, you cannot even tell. Now, apparently the paper will break down over the next year so you don’t have to remove it like that black barrier stuff you buy. And, I got the newspapers from our Cystic Fibrosis Coordinator at work, so they were free. Thanks Cat! Free is good when saving for a house. Anytime actually. ..Anytime 🙂

002

I just bought more mulch (it was a little sparse and I ran out halfway through). So, today I got the rest of the flowerbed done and life is grand.  I briefly thought about doing this technique in the back garden but decided against it. Most people say that the newspaper is safe to be around plants that produce fruits and vegetables since it is just carbon and the ink is made of soy. But, there is a question of the newspaper putting MSG into the soil. So, since I am an organic gardener, I will keep the paper relegated to the front yard away from my food source 🙂  Just sayin…

Harley was very tired after all the hard work!

082Have a great week.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Garden, recommendations, Summer Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

