New camera decisions

I am agonizing over the  decision to buy a new camera. Right now I have a Sony DSC-Hx1. It takes really good pictures, and I can use full manual mode but it is a little bit of a pain. Also, I cannot get any new lenses.  I usually just use the automatic mode just because it is easier, although I have played quite a bit using the full manual mode.  Harley has gotten a little conditioned to the sound of my camera. When I turn the camera on, it chimes, and Harley instantly picks his head up and starts looking around. That sort of ruins the moment when he is being cute and I want to just capture a “natural” look 🙂

I have been wanting a SLR camera for ages and have never taken the plunge. Nathan has always said that I should totally get a SLR, but that I need to sell my current camera. He thinks that once I get a SLR, then  won’t use my camera and it will must sit….He is probably right. 

I also have a little point and shoot camera which I love. So, a girl doesn’t need that many cameras. My birthday is coming up and I have decided to see if I can get some help buying a entry level SLR. The problem is I just don’t know which one to get.  Until then, I am going to use the full manual mode on my current camera just to brush up on all the concepts.

I am narrowing the decision down to a Canon T3i or a Nikkon D5100. My neighbor Sarah has a T3i and let me borrow it for the night. I love it, but still am a little nervous to finally settle on it.   🙂 I know. I am weird.   It is really hard to settle on one brand, as once I start buying lenses for it, I will want to stick with the same brand if and when I want to upgrade to a better SLR. 

Anyone out there have any helpful hints on how to choose between the many different SLR’s that are out there?  That would be greatly appreciated!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

