Introspection

DSC00489

Harley and I have been doing a little bit of self-evaluation. Here is what I knew about myself:

-I am a list maker.

-I am a procrastinator but try not to be.

-I like things tidy.

-My motto is “if you don’t use something within a year, donate it to the local shelter”.

 

Here is what I am finding out about myself.

-I often make lists that are way to long to ever get done in the selected timeframe.

-I bite off more than I can chew….often…like every time.

-I have lots of unfinished projects.

-Apparently my motto does not count once stuff gets to the basement.

 

Nathan and I have been working like crazy people trying to get the house and garage all cleaned up and organized. We have been purging our stuff like crazy. It’s amazing how much stuff 2 people accumulate. I apparently am a saver. In my basement I found that I have been saving my old prom dresses from high school (which definitely don’t fit, FYI), a large stuffed animal that I made in middle school home ec, and many stuffed animals that I had as a kid.  Not to mention an old table that I love but that needs to be refurbished, an old desk of Nathan’s moms that we have never used, and Christmas decorations that I never knew I had. Now, I had totally forgotten that I was keeping all this stuff. They were all packed away in boxes that I haven’t touched in years. So, I spend the day purging. I took so much stuff to the local shelter. It is such a liberating experience getting rid of old stuff. Who knew?!

I have been in the basement painting, sanding, organizing and cleaning. I am almost done and ready to show pictures. I will keep you posted.

DSC00488Harley was getting a little bored though, and wanted to do something fun.

DSC00560

We ended up taking the day off from cleaning yesterday and going to the in-laws for Nathan’s dads birthday.   Harley had lots of fun playing with his sister. We had a great day. Nathan’s parents are doing lots of home improvements. They were recently given a “free” hot tub. It is turning out to definitely not be free because there is a TON of work they are doing with all the cleaning, making a platform for it, taking out trees so that the tub can have a place to go. She is also re-staining the deck. The house looks so different. It was a little overwhelming! But, Nathan’s mom showed me something very cute…

DSC00572

She found a little rabbit nest under one the plants in her garden. There are 5 little bunnies piled in this little nest. She is trying her best to keep the dogs away from it until they get old enough to move to a better spot. Apparently one dog already was caught carrying around one of the bunnies around the yard until Nathan’s mom put a stop to it. Luckily, no little bunny casualties as of yet.

DSC00568She says she would never do such a thing…she is a very sweet girl.

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Spring, Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

