DIY Fever

It has been such a weird spring so far here in Michigan!  Normally the month of April is full of melting snow, blooming gardens, blossoming trees and warmer weather. This April has been rain. Nothing but rain!  The rivers and lakes have been overflowing over the flood zone. The city of Grand Rapids is under water. Countless basements are wet. And still it rains.  It is made worse by the fact that it has been 40 degrees. It even snowed overnight a couple of times. Weird!

DSC02234

Fortunately, yesterday the sun poked out and all of a sudden it was 65 degrees. That apparently was the cue for Nathan and I to get work done. Lots of work. I started by cleaning out all the drawers in the bathroom, purging all unneeded medication and toiletries, and re-organizing the hall linen closet. Harley helped by sniffing everything that came out of the drawers…you know…just to make sure it was safe.  It was a tiring job.

DSC02232

I then finished all the sanding in the basement. My mom and Dave came down a couple of weeks ago and helped me put the first coat of paint on the doors and back bedroom and hallway in the basement. I then noticed that there was a little more sanding to do than I had realized. So, I decided to re-sand the corners of the molding before I put the second coat on. It’s been a lot of work, but I think it will look a lot better in the end.

DSC02239

After that, Harley was more than ready to go outside in the beautiful weather. We ended up almost finishing the front flowerbed. It’s still too early to plant flowers but I redid all the stone border, got the rest of the grass out of the flowerbed, and took out the stone campfire ring in the backyard. Well, almost all of it. I fizzled at the end and left the rocks in the front and back yard. I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I ended the day by ordering a pizza. It was nice.

Harley helped the entire time. The neighbors came over to see us and Harley was very excited. He likes visitors. He also likes to help weed the flowerbed. He only does it if I tell him it’s ok. He is such a good boy!

Today we were supposed to go to the in-laws house to go to the dog park, but both Nathan and I woke up and could hardly move. We barely made it back from the store before crashing in the chair for the rest of the day. So, we took a rain check. Instead, I am surfing Pinterest looking for ideas for DIY projects.  Here are the things that I am intrigued with:
-the penny floor. How cool would this be to have this done in a kitchen or laundry room?
-the tree canvas. I could also do this with pictures.
concrete tabletops– this may be out of my league!
make your own poofs

I totally need to find a new house! I have the do it yourself itch. 🙂 Have a great week.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in DIY, Garden, Harley, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

