Happy March to me!

DSC02159

Hi all. I am so sorry that I have forsaken you for two whole weeks! Two weeks ago I ran into a dry spell of writing where there was literally nothing to talk about except the weather, the same old work crap, blah blah blah. Nobody wants to hear that, let’s just be honest. Then, all of a sudden, lots of things were happening and I just could not keep up. But, I am finally here grabbing a free second, under my heated blanket with Harley dozing on the couch, and I am polishing off the end of a bag of caramel corn. Life cannot get much better than this.

We got dumped on again with snow, so that meant lots of this.

DSC02162

And some of this.

DSC02207

And just a little bit of this.

DSC02155

We also had a bit of excitement in our lives this week. Nathan has been dreaming about getting a fast sporty car since he was sixteen. He almost bought a trans am when he was 20 but it just wasn’t meant to be. Well, he has been looking for a used Camaro for the longest time and could not find what he wanted. So, I finally surprised him and said that he should buy a new one. We went down to Sparta Chevrolet here in Sparta and worked with Anna to build exactly the car he wanted. Ana was so great and provided such great care for Nathan. She thought the car may take about 6 weeks to get here from the factory, so we went ahead and ordered it. Anna was great and gave Nathan a little email when the car went onto the assembly line, when it was shipped out, etc so that Nathan could know exactly what was happening with his baby 🙂  It sounds a little crazy, but this really provided him with a special memory of getting his sporty car and really built excitement for him.  Well, it finally came in (a little early I might add in only 4 weeks). It worked out perfectly though because it came into the dealership on the only dry non-icy day of the week last week and we were able to get it home safely before all the ice and snow hit.  Sadly this is the only picture I could take of it, and it was when I was stopped at a light. I am such a bad wife…I know.

camaro

Anywho, Nathan has been staring at it ever since.  He is so excited for the snow to melt so he can drive it. We picked it up so late that it was really dark by the time we got it home so no pictures yet, but I will get them once we get it out of the garage in the spring.

Because I met him at the dealership on my way home from work, Nathan drove the Camaro home while I drove my car behind him. We got home and he asked me if I wanted to drive the Camaro back to the dealership to pick up his car. I said no on account of it being a stick and I have not driven a stick in several years and did not want to deal with the hassle on wet roads. On the way back from the dealership, I HIT A DEER!!!  Thank God that I was not driving the Camaro. Nathan would have been reduced to tears 🙂  The deer had been hit by the car or two in front of Nathan. Nathan managed to swerve into oncoming traffic and miss it but I had no such luck and thought maybe that I could just pass right over it…NOPE…I am not sure if anyone has ever hit a large deer carcass with their car, but it is pretty brutal. There was lots of damage to the car and lots of damage to my psyche.  Big time. I could not sleep for several days. I kept dreaming I had hit a person with the car. Yuck. For the next several days Nathan had to keep dragging off bloody parts of my car that kept falling off from all the damage. I will have to get it fixed in the spring, but for now the car is drivable and safe, as far as I know.

There are no pictures as it was a pretty nasty mess of a car, and no one wants to see that. Sooooooo, more adorable Harley pictures anyone?  It’s a palate cleanser 🙂

DSC02217

I hope everyone has a great week. Be safe out there and watch for falling deer!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

