Scary stairs and winter weather

DSC00464

This week was such a crazy week for weather here in Michigan. It has been really warm for this time of year all winter. Up until this week, we really had only had one good snow storm, and then it warmed up into the mid 40’s and all the snow melted. I was really enjoying going out on walks with Harley without ice and snow on the ground. I was able to drive the 35 miles to work one way, and not be bothered with thoughts that maybe I would careen into the ditch. I forgot to be thankful for that….

 

And then winter hit in West Michigan. This week it went from mid 40’s to -5 in one night. And then stayed in the negative numbers and low single digits all week during the day. It rained. Then it snowed….and snowed….and snowed some more. The roads were icy, the commute was slow, and massive car accidents happened. My 35 mile one way commute went from 40 minutes to 90 minutes. But, I stayed out of the ditch and upright on my two feet.

DSC00465

Then Harley started acting weird….It all started on Monday night when Harley went outside to potty before bedtime. Let me give you some context. We have a raised deck that has about 10 stairs down to the backyard. We built these stairs right after we brought Harley home, and he has been using these said stairs for the last 6 years. Never had a problem. He goes up and down the stairs in the middle of snowstorms, even when there is a foot of snow and ice on them. Never thought once about them. On Monday, I heard the stairs creak when he went down them but didn’t think any thing of it. He came in and went to bed and all was right with the world. Then, in the morning I let him out after breakfast and again he went down the stairs. I then heard him whimpering and barking at the bottom of the stairs. Try as I might he would NOT come upstairs. I finally had to brave the -6 temperatures and the windchill to walk my fanny out the front door and around the back of the house, dig out the fence gate, and let Harley come in the house through the front door. I noticed he was limping a little on that short walk around the house. For then next 4 days, he would not go down the stairs unless either Nathan or I stood at the top of the stairs….Apparently for moral support or something. I am not sure what happened, but either he fell down the stairs, or the wooden stairs were so cold that they made noise when he went down them and he got scared. Good thing we have this big strong boy to keep us safe and all!

 

We have been spending the rest of the week practicing going down the stairs like a big boy all by himself. Finally he is able to walk outside, go downstairs, do his business and come back up all by himself…you know…like he has been doing for the LAST 6 YEARS!! Thanks Harley for picking the coldest weather of the year to decide you were afraid of the deck. See how excited he is to master this task again 🙂

DSC00463

Hope you all have a great weekend.

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

