Holy smokes, influenza!!

DSC00461

Hi all. I am so sorry that I have not stopped by for so long. It has been a heck of a couple of weeks. Influenza has finally hit Michigan and we have been over-run with respiratory infections. The scary thing is that we have been seeing a lot of the flu in patients that got the flu vaccine. Last week we had so many patients we didn’t know what to do with ourselves. I worked about 60 hours last week so the posting sort of fell by the wayside…*sigh*.  This week is a whole new week though, so lets all keep our fingers crossed for working a normal 40 hour work week.

On other news, last Friday night my mom called and asked if we could go out to dinner. Nathan and I never go out to dinner, so it was a nice change of pace. We ended up going to Red Lobster and I got the stuffed flounder….yum!  We ended the dinner with a fantastic chocolate brownie. It was wonderful. We got home at about 11:30 pm so I was dead tired. Luckily, Nathan drove home so I could sleep in the car.

On Saturday morning we went to the in-laws house for Nathan’s birthday celebration.  I was still so tired and I accidentally fell asleep on their couch. It reminded me of when I was young and the adults would talk and the room would be so warm and cozy and you would just fall asleep. Not cool, I know, but it was unavoidable. Nathan’s mom made a cake that was to die for. We brought home a large piece and have been eyeing it for the last 2 days.

Where's my drive thru treat momma?

Where’s my drive thru treat momma?

We went to the bank before we left. Harley LOVES any drive thru because he always gets treats in the drive-thru. It’s awesome for him!

On Sunday, I ended up not doing anything besides cooking lunch and dinner. No working out, no hanging out with Harley, no grocery shopping. Just sitting on the couch. It was glorious and just what I needed.

I woke up this morning to find quite a bit of snow and icy roads. It was 10 degrees today. I made it to and from work all safe and sound, but others on the roads were not so lucky. Tomorrow is gearing up to be a chilly day. It dropped to 2 degrees when I got home, and it is below zero now and it is only 7pm. Hopefully it warms up a bit tomorrow. BRRRR.

I hope you all have a great week. We might have house guests this week in the form of Harley’s sister Annie and Bear. It will be lots of fun!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

