Potluck and baked beans

DSC00446

We had a potluck at the office a few weeks ago and I was in charge of making a side dish.   I usually bring deserts or main dish, so sides were a bit of a stretch for me. I needed something that could go into a crock pot as I had a meeting early in the morning and there is not oven at the office. I also needed it to be easy to make because I got home the night before pretty late.  I finally decided on baked beans . I was a little nervous about bringing a dish that I had never made before. To make matters worse, I never have good luck with making baked beans.

But, I am not one to run away from a challenge. Baked beans it was. So, I scoured 3-4 cookbooks lying around the house, and finally settled on a baked bean recipe from a Pillsbury Potluck book that I had bought as an impulse buy at the checkout lane of Meijers. I wasn’t expecting much because there were not that many ingredients and everything was from a can, but boy was I mistaken. Everybody really liked the beans, and I will definitely be making these again in the near future. I hope you like it.

DSC00434

I then decided to make it again for Nathan and I. I attempted several different photos but it turns out I apparently cannot capture a good picture of baked beans in the middle of winter to save my life!  Lighting or lack thereof seems to be the problem. So, because I did not want to do this dish a disservice and I really liked the beans, I decided to give you cute puppy pictures instead. Enjoy!

 

Baked Beans- from the Pillsbury Potlucks June 2008 edition

ingredients:
1 pound bacon- cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 medium sweet onion
1 cup ketchup
1/2 cup brown sugar (may reduce to 1/4 cup if you like your beans less sweet)
1/2 cup light molasses
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon ground mustard
2 cans (15.5 oz each) great northern beans, drained and rinsed
2 cans (15.5 oz each) black beans drained, 1/2 liquid reserved

In 10 inch skillet, cook bacon and onions over medium heat in nonstick pan. Stirring occasionally until bacon is crisp and onions are tender. Drain

In crockpot- mix bacon, onion and remaining ingredients, including reserved liquid. Cover and cook on low x 4 hours.

This recipe was really easy and it was the perfect potluck dish because it was easy to transport, easy to clean up and stayed fresh all day while people took multiple lunch times. I will definitely have to make this again!

What do you bring to holiday potlucks?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

