Happy Birthday Blog!

DSC00443

Hi all. Exactly 1 year ago this blog was born. It is hard to grasp that a year has already passed. When I started this blog, I wanted a place that was my little slice of the world where I could put my musings and my pictures. It has turned into so much more!  This blog has allowed me to make connections that I would have not otherwise made. I have been able to share my artistic side in a way that I haven’t been able to do in quite some time. It’s amazing how much this space has taken up my life. It is motivation to get out into the world and enjoy life just a little more than I used to. I hope in the next year we can continue to share our stories and make even more friendships and connections.

DSC00428

Nathan is still sick with a pretty intense cold that has been going on for about a week, so we Harley and I have been cooped up for way too long. So, yesterday Harley and I decided to go out and play in the snow. Harley loses patience with me when we have to go outside in the winter. He forgets that not all of us have a thick winter coat. While he lays out in the blizzard conditions all day, I have to bundle up like the end of the world is coming just to go outside. So, after about 15 minutes of putting on sweatpants, 2 sweatshirts, snow pants, very thick winter coat that goes down to my knees, hat, gloves, and ear warmers, we were ready to go. Harley put on his collar and got his leash and we were off.

We started with just a little warmup outside in the yard. We ran around and looked for treats that I buried in the snow.  Lots of fun, let me tell you 🙂

Let's go momma, you move so slow!

Let’s go momma, you move so slow!

We then braved the wind and went for a brisk walk for about 40 minutes. It was a pretty good workout for both of us as the road was pretty slick and we had to jump between the icy patches. Harley almost fell a couple of times.  Life in Michigan at it’s finest.

Once we came back, Nathan was picking up the house. Since Nathan’s been sick, I have been making soups and doing laundry, but the actual cleaning of the house has gone by the wayside. He was apparently feeling a little better so he started tidying up. Thank the good lord, because about 30 minutes later our neighbor Sara came over with her two girls and needed a spot to stash the kids for a few hours. Apparently the carbon monoxide detectors were going off when they came back from town, and so obviously she did not want to take her small children in the house.  The plan was to put the girls down for a nap at our house while we figured out the issue. That turned into Grace (the oldest one who’s 4) watching cartoons and Gwen (the youngest one who is 1) hanging out on the beanbag. Harley unfortunately had to sleep in the spare bedroom while they were here. He is really good with kids, but sometimes it’s just a bit too much excitement when you get everyone together.

DSC00454

Sara finally figured out that her gas stove was the issue. PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT: If you have pets that are home all day and you also have a gas stove, make sure that when you turn off the gas stove burner, it clicks all the way off!  She had been making tea and turned off the burner that morning. The flame went off but the gas was still on a little bit. The dial looked like it was off but it was still enough to fill the upstairs and downstairs of their home with carbon monoxide!  It’s not a huge deal with you don’t have anyone home during the day, but for us who have Harley here all day by himself, that could be a huge problem. It would be a horrible thing to come home to so be careful!

We got it all straightened out though and they are safe and sound. It’s really nice to have good neighbors you can count on in a pinch. We are very lucky.

The rest of the day was spent lounging around the house, doing laundry and getting the Wii up and running. Wii bowling is a very big deal at our house. Nathan and I are very competitive and Harley likes to join in and watch.

I hope you all have a great week!

DSC00445

Weekly activity roundup:
Sunday- no activity
Monday- 5 am bikini workout
Tuesday- walk with Harley
Weds- 5am Pilates new workout. My abs hurt for the next few days!
Thursday- 5am Pure Barre workout
Friday- 5am abs workout with cuddle time with Harley of course.
Saturday- 45 minute walk with Harley.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Winter, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

