A Brand New Year

DSC00426

Today is the start to the new year. I hope everyone had a pleasant new years eve. We went over to our neighbors house and hung out with them. We didn’t do much of anything, but it was really nice to just catch up with them. It’s amazing that just being together is all it takes sometimes to make a great night. An added bonus is that we spent time in their basement which they have all finished. I am in the process of refinishing my basement, and so it was nice to see what they have done with theirs. A little copy cat every once in a while is not a bad thing, right?

Harley last night when the ball was dropping. He was not amused.

Harley last night when the ball was dropping. He was not amused.

I love the new year. I am not much for making resolutions as I never actually follow through with them, but I like the way the calendar resets. In my mind, its like a fresh start to the year. For instance, take today. I get the day off so I can wake up and lay in bed for a while just thinking about things. Today I actually stayed in bed until 7:30 am which is way too late for me. Then, Harley comes in and whines gently so that I wake up. I am usually already awake when he does this therefore it is cute. It’s not so cute when he is actually waking me up!  I usually get up earlier than Nathan and get the dishes done and pick up the house a little bit before he wakes up. Its Harley and my time to just hang out in the kitchen, which is nice.

Bright and early....and avoiding the camera

Bright and early….and avoiding the camera

I digress. Then I open up all the blinds so find a snowy white landscape outside. The air is crisp and cold against my face when I open the sliding door to let Harley outside after he eats. I take a minute to listen to the complete silence that is our neighborhood at 7:30 am. Apparently everyone in our neighborhood is either  gone to family and friends houses, or sleeping in on the new year. It’s amazing how just a little bit of snow blankets the ground and completely muffles all sounds. You can almost hear the wind blowing and the snow falling. It’s amazing.  I then start brewing a pot of coffee. There is nothing quite like sitting down in my nice comfy chair with my blanket, slippers and a hot cup of freshly brewed coffee. Harley sits at my feet while I drink my coffee and he eats his treat he got from Christmas. It’s our time.  It’s a nice way to start the new year.

Unfortunately, Nathan woke up today with a sore throat and a stuffy nose. Apparently his co-worker has been a little sick last week, and he did not manage to avoid the germs. I hate to see Nathan sick. Although I must say that usually I am sick on new years, so I’m secretly glad it’s not me. Sorry Nathan!  So today I am contemplating finishing up the painting in the basement. I started a couple of weeks ago and kind of fizzled. My goal is to get the painting done, and then I can get carpet installed and I will be done. My plan is to get my home gym down there so I don’t have to worry about waking up Nathan when I workout in the morning. A gift to myself for finishing the basement will be getting a new treadmill. I can hardly wait.

DSC02111

Even though I don’t participate in resolution setting, I do want to make a few goals for myself.
In 2013 I hope we have a happy and healthy year. It’s amazing that only 1 year ago I started this blog space. I feel like we have come such a long way, and have made many online friendships along the way. I plan to increase my number of blog posts to at least 2 per week. Totally doable.

Nathan and I have slowly been changing our diet. Most of our meat is now from a local grass fed, non antibiotic non hormone farm where the little cows and chickens are allowed to be their little happy cow and chicken selves. I hope to further this practice and convert all our meat to more organic means. I also have made a valiant effort to grow most of our veges and get our fruits from local sources in the summer. I hope to do better this year and think ahead to that I do not have to buy non organic non local fruits and veges. That will be nice.

Lastly, I hope to be a person that people look up to at work and in my personal life. I want to be approachable, kind and compassionate. I hope to be fair to others and understanding.  When I am dead, I want people to say that I was a good person and did my best to do the right and honorable thing.

Lets all strive to be better people this year. Happy New Year.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Holidays, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

