Christmas recap

DSC02044
Hi all. I hope you had a beautiful Christmas holiday. We had a wonderful 4 day weekend. On Saturday and Sunday we mostly sat around, cleaned the house and watched movies. We don’t ever to that. I had high hopes of painting the rest of the basement but it was just not to be. On Christmas Eve I woke up bright and early to bake parsnips with cheese from my book Tender by Nigel Slater.

The best vegetable cookbook for special occasions in the world

The best vegetable cookbook for special occasions in the world

I love this cookbook. Not for everyday occasions mind you, because there is an awful lot of butter and cream used in these recipes. But if you have a special occasional and are like me and always scramble to come up with an interesting vegetable, this cookbook is for you. The parsnips and cheese were fantastic. I usually don’t eat parsnips and truthfully did not expect this dish to be all that good. I was surprised. I planned on taking a picture of the dish before dinner, but it got eaten so fast that I could not snap even one picture.

After dinner we opened presents. I like how we open presents at my in-laws house. We all open them one by one so that the experience lasts longer, and it gives you the opportunity to talk and see what each person asked for. I got an electrical sander (for the basement), a cookbook, a cozy electric blanket and a watch for work.

What is it grandma?

What is it grandma?

Harley got to spend time with his sister and his half-brother. They had a great time opening presents. Here grandma is helping them open pup-peroni sticks. Harley cannot get enough of them, and he only gets them once a year when his great grandma buys them. Harley also got a stuffed animal that I have a sneaking suspicion that Bear promptly broke the squeaker. He still loves it though. Bear was very impressed with himself.

DSC02070Harley also got several different dog treats from his great grandma, a tin of cat food (cause he always makes it a priority to eat all the cat food at great grandma’s house, and a new collar. He loved his new collar and wore it proudly all day.

Here's my new collar, but I am truthfully looking for more food!

Here’s my new collar, but I am truthfully looking for more food!

He woke up the next morning with a tummy ache. It was very sad.

We had a great breakfast and then went to the gun range to try out Nathan’s new handgun that he had bought several months ago but never actually shot. It was a really good way to work off some extra calories, be outdoors in the bright sunny 30 degree weather. It was actually a great day to be out in the sun as there was no wind at all and the fresh snow that had fallen on Christmas Eve was really beautiful.

DSC02083We ended up attempting to go home around 2pm but about 4 miles away from the in-laws house, we noticed our car had smoke billowing out of the tailpipe and out of the hood. Nathan’s dad came over and towed up back to their house and let us borrow their car for the trip home. All in all, we got home about 6pm. I promptly went over to our neighbors house to drop off a little Christmas basket of homemade jams I had made for them. They gave Harley a huge box of treats that are about as big as his face. He is very excited to have them!

I hope you all had a great Christmas holiday and are looking forward to New Years.

 

By the way, I forgot to do the weekly workout roundup (as if this post isn’t already long enough):

Sunday: Busy cooking. No workout

Monday: No workout. Busy at the gun range (totally does not count)

Tuesday: 30 minutes ab workout

Weds: 30 minute lower body

Thursday: off. Slept in and meant to walk Harley in the afternoon but that didn’t happen either.

Friday:  Pure Barre workout 30 minutes (my legs are sore today!)

Today – Saturday: 60 minute walk with Harley

I didn’t do very well on the workouts this week but with the holiday I didn’t expect to. Next week I am going to have to really buckle down and get back into the hang of it.

 

DSC02092Baked parsnips with cheese- from Nigel Slaters book Tender.

ingredients:

serves 2

1 large onion

5 tablespoons butter

2 large parsnips

3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme

3-1/2 ounces cheese. I used Gruyere

1/2 cup vegetable stock

directions:

Preheat oven to 400F

Peel onion and cut into paper-thin rings. Melt half of the butter in a large pan and gently fry onion until the onion is soft and translucent. Do not brown.

Peel the parsnips and slice into fine disks. In a deep casserole dish, layer cooked onions, followed by a layer of parsnips, then butter, cheese and then some salt/ pepper/ thyme. Repeat layers 3 times .  End with cheese on top. Pour vege stock over the entire mixture.

Cover lightly with foil, place on a high rack in the oven and bake 30 minutes. Remove foil and test parsnips to make sure they are tender. Return to oven and broil about 5 minutes to brown. Serve straight from the dish.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Holidays, Recipes, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas recap

  1. Beth says:

    Sounds like you guys had a great Christmas ! Love the blogg.

  2. And I forgot to ask, do you bake your dogs treats? I love that Harley got a tin of cat food! We have a dog that eats all of our cats food as well! It must taste better or something…or they are confused that they are in fact a dog NOT a cat! haha

    • I don’t usually bake my own dog treats because, frankly I am lazy and short on time. I will bake Harley puppy cakes when we have friends over who have dogs and the pups have a “puppy party”. Harley is pretty food motivated so he will eat anything he can get his hands on…except lettuce…and carrots. Weird. He loves cat food and I am not sure why. I wonder if it is the fishy stinky smell? It doesn’t seem to agree with him though because he urps and burps all night, which is really fun for the rest of us. Thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you around my blog again!

  3. It’s so tough to stick to a workout routine during the Holidays! I always tell myself once the new year comes, then I’ll get back down to business.

    Your dogs are so cute!

    • I am not sure why the holidays are so tough for me to stick to my routine, but the moment I don’t have to work, I totally just want to lay on the couch! When summer comes and the days are a little bit longer (and warmer) then it is better. Good luck on your next marathon. I will definately be stopping by your blog to see your progress.

Leave a Reply

