Saturday Traditions

Harley and I have a Saturday tradition that I think we both look forward to all week.

DSC02006

I am usually an early riser. More so now that I am getting up at 5am every day to workout. I usually am awake by 5:30 am on the weekends. I usually lay in bed thinking about the day for another half hour. If I am lucky, I can maybe get a little snooze in but not usually. Harley comes into the hallway leading to our bedroom about 6am and softly whimpers, letting me know that he is awake. If I don’t get up, he gets progressively more forceful until he is all out bear noise guttural crying. It’s pretty hilarious if you are not super tired. If you are super tired, you want to strangle him.

DSC01988

Anyhow, usually I don’t want to wake Nathan up, so all I have to do is snap my fingers and Harley softly tiptoes to my side of the bed and gives dry little doggy kisses. I ask him if he wants me to get up, and he runs to the edge of the bed, as if to say “yes momma, get up”. We get up.  We get up, pick up the house a little, do the dishes, take out the pizza box if it was Friday pizza night, and make coffee.   Then I feed Harley and he goes potty while I finish up.

DSC01987

Then I sit in the chair and start reading recipes, blogs and emails while Harley rummages in his toy box for a suitable toy to bring me. This takes literally about 20 minutes. It’s as if he has just the perfect toy in mind to give to you. It’s very cute.

DSC01989

He lays across my lap and cuddles. He squeaks his toy and wants me to play with it. He gives kisses and lays his head on my chest. This goes on for about 30 minutes. If Harley hears a sound coming from the bedroom, everything stops while he weighs the options of going to see if Nathan is awake, or continuing to cuddle with me. If all is quite, I win out. If Nathan is getting out of bed, Harley stops, sits very still, and then takes off like a bullet after Nathan so he can go into the bathroom with him.

Oh my gosh, is daddy up?

Oh my gosh, is daddy up?

For some reason, Harley likes the bathroom and always makes it a priority to go in there with you. Once Nathan sits in the chair, the whole process starts over with Harley looking for a different perfect toy for Nathan, laying on his lap and doing cuddle time.

It’s a good morning. Hope you guys are having a great Saturday morning.  I am contemplating cooking up some Christmas cookies, but I may just enjoy the morning with my heated blanket and coffee.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

