Holiday spirit

I hope all of you are having a great pre-Christmas week.   I have been super busy at work but I wanted to drop in and share a few thoughts.

My office was super busy at work today. There were 8 different providers all working at the same time which means that we were using every medical assistant and every room we had. The medical assistants were really working hard to run the show seamlessly and it showed. They were really great. I am sure they all went home and had a drink!  🙂  They deserved it.

DSC01978

One of our newer doctors came in today with an enormous gift basket for the medical assistants.  I went back to my office and found that and all three of the nurse practitioners and physician assistant also received a gift basket with a heart felt note from all of the doctors. It is such a small thing but it is amazing how just them showing that they were thinking about us made our day. Couple that with the fact that we were supposed to work on Monday (Christmas Eve) and we were informed that we could have the day off and we were very happy.  Everyone seemed to be in such a great mood today. Even though we were super busy and often times that makes for some frustrated workers, today we all just went with the flow. I wish everyday could be like that!  We have such a big group that it sometimes it feels like we are not that close. There are many times when I see a physician and realize it has been about 12 weeks since I have even seen them, much less talked with them. Then, a day like today happens and it makes you realize that we are all one big happy dysfunctional family and that is why I love my group.

DSC00119

Someone told me at work today that today marks the beginning of returning to daylight when I wake up.  I am still waking up early at 5am to workout and Harley is deciding it is our time together to cuddle. I cannot wait until this is the scene I see when I wake up in the morning!  He gets really excited and runs down to our bedroom as soon as he hears the alarm go off. He then whimpers until I get out of bed. He allows me to get in about 20 minutes of exercise and then he starts wanting to cuddle. If I get on to the yoga mat to do some ab work, then all bets are off and he starts licking my face and arms. It’s a lot of fun for him, apparently. He will then either lay his head on my stomach, or sit with his back directly in my line of vision so I cannot see the computer screen where my timer is monitoring my reps. Awesome. Today I did a good 30 minutes before I just gave in and laid on the floor with him. That cannot start to be a habit, or I am going to have to wake up even earlier.  It’s a vicious circle!

My weekly workout has been great.
Sunday- ran with Harley
Monday- funeral- worked out in the hotel room with cardio and calisthenics
Tuesday- workout videos for arms and shoulders 40 minutes
Wednesday- workout videos for butt and arms 40 minutes
Thursday- workout videos for abs 30 minutes
Friday- workout video ballet and abdomen

I had hoped to get in another run or two during the week this week, but apparently I was in for working extremely long hours this week. I got home everyday at about 6pm. Thursday I actually would have gotten out on time and been able to run, except that I had a meeting that ran late. Also, it either rained or snowed all week. Pathetic. I need to get my workout room in the basement painted so that my treadmill can be used again instead of using it as a large collection bin for basement crap.

I hope you all have a great weekend and Merry Christmas!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Holidays, Winter, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

