Weekly roundup

I had a very interesting week this week. On one hand…the Good:

I changed up my workout routine so that I wake up at 5am and do about 30-40 minutes of workout videos. I thought it would be really hard for me, since I am the girl who hits the snooze button 5 or 6 times before I have to jump out of bed with only 5 minutes to get into the bathroom before Nathan needs to get in there. He loves it when I do that….like…practically everyday. So, when I told him I was getting up 45 minutes early, he laughed in my face. I know, right. NOT NICE AT ALL.  It actually was not bad at all. It took me about 10 minutes of laying in bed the first day before I just decided I needed to break the cycle and get my fanny out of bed. After that, every morning I was sort of looking forward to it. Added bonus….Harley gets up with me and likes to lay right next to me while I do situps/ push ups etc and lay his head on my stomach. Makes it sort of difficult to get a quality workout but how can you resist the cuteness?

DSC00229

Answer…you cannot!

I worked out every morning for 30-40 minutes except for Friday when my neck muscles were so sore and I needed to take a rest day.  I even took the boy out on 30 minute walk  one of the days too. All in all, a good start to the week.  An added bonus to working out in the morning is that I forget I worked out and by the afternoon I am dreading needed to workout. Then I get an epiphany every time I realize I already did it for the day, and anything extra is just added bonus.  That’s an awesome feeling.

 

The not so good:

My grandpa died. He was my last living grandparent and it is sort of weird to think that there is no one left in that generation in my family. I used to love hanging out with my grandpa when I was a kid. He would always go out for hikes in the woods and tell me about all the edible plants. He was really big into eating ferns and would always pick a handful of ferns “for the dinner”. My mom would always refuse to cook them, and there would be a little discussion about it. In the end, mom would win because in reality no one wanted to eat the ferns in the first place. It was just nice to be with my grandpa and doing a job. Then, I grew up and moved to college. I didn’t see my grandparents as much as I would have liked. My grandmother died in 2004 and we all realized that my grandpa was getting a little confused. Nothing major, just little memory problems. He remarried a family friend Priscilla and was very happy. A few years ago he got really confused and had to go to a nursing home to live. He recently has gotten really confused with Dementia. I last saw him for his birthday a couple of months ago when the whole family drove across the state to hang out with him for his birthday. It was so nice to see him and his face would light up when he recognized who you were. It was a nice day. Here’s a picture of him at my wedding.

Grandpa and Priscilla

Grandpa and Priscilla

 

It is very sad to see him go but we will always remember the good times with him before he got sick. I hope you all have a good week.

 

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

