Girls day out

Yesterday one of my best friends (Beth) and I went on a little girls day and it was a blast. She lives in Cadillac which is about an hour away from us. Sadly, we don’t hang out as much as we would like. So, when she called several weeks ago and asked if I would go on a massage day, I jumped at the chance!  I mean, who would NOT want to go to a spa day?!?

I woke up bright and early to get ready since I would have to be at her house by 9:30 am. What did I see when I let the boy out?

First snow of the year!

First snow of the year!

Yep. You guessed it. It was about 4 inches of snow, with more snow coming at a slant! You know you are in trouble when the snow is coming down sideways 🙂

Harley was very excited. He likes the snow. He had to come in since he gets a treat whenever we leave for the day. He gets really concerned that he may miss treats!

Seriously daddy, where is my treat?

Seriously daddy, where is my treat?

Apparently I am not the treat giver as I could not get him to look at me. Nathan always leaves last so he gets the fun title of treat giver. Anyhoo, I did some dishes, tidied up the house, and got on my way. The roads were pretty slick and I was cursing the winter weather.

DSC00414There were several people who were sliding off the road as I made my way up to Cadillac to pick Beth up. I always feel a little guilty when I see accidents and don’t stop to help. I always check to see if the people who are in the ditch are moving or not. If they are not moving, then I stop to help. That can be really dangerous too, so one has to be careful. You don’t want to be on the side of the icy freeway for too long!

Look how beautiful it is though, truly!

Look how beautiful it is though, truly!

We finally made it up to the Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. It is so much cuter inside. Sadly, I could not take pictures of the inside as there were scantily clad ladies and gentlemen in robes that would probably not like my busy camera!

You would never know the relaxation hidden behind these walls!

You would never know the relaxation hidden behind these walls!

They have such a nice spa and it is always so warm and comfortable. It took us no time to get into our robes and slippers, and get nice and comfy in the candlelit room by the fire. We got the “serenity package” which comes with an hour massage, facial, manicure and pedicure. This is 4 hours of complete relaxation and is totally worth the price tag people. Honestly, everyone needs a spa day once in a while. It is a nice change of pace for both of us, and it allows us to just have a little time to girl talk. I ended up going with a muted color on my nails (I have to work on Monday and dark colors always show chips!).

DSC01970

I could have a little more fun with my toes.

DSC01973On a side note, I don’t think I have ever tried to get a toe picture. Sorry for the awkward angle. I am not sure it is possible to get a cute artsy foot picture.

 

I usually never buy products when I go to the spa as they can be super expensive and I am such a simple girl. But, I did get the Hoba oil and Fruit enzyme peel as they felt great on my skin. I cannot wait to try them out.

More fun spa stuff for later.

More fun spa stuff for later.

Anyways, we ended the day by going to Travino’s. Last year when we went to the spa, we ended up going here and I got the ravioli which was the best ravioli I have ever had. So, naturally, this year I sent subliminal messages to Beth all day that we should go there. Sadly, the ravioli that I ordered was not the same as last time, but it was still good. For dessert, I ordered the carrot cake which was phenomenal. Beth got the pumpkin cheesecake which was also superb. It was a great meal.

DSC00422All in all, it was a great day. I ended up getting home about 7pm and jumped in the shower right away. It’s so nice to shower and get into your jammies after a day at the spa. We should totally do it again.  Maybe tomorrow?

 

PS: I forgot to outline my week of exercise. I hit my mark of 4 days out of the week, but just barely!

Sunday- worked on the basement doing caulking and sanding for about 5 hours.

Monday- stretching and gentle yoga

Tuesday- stairs at work for about 20 minutes.

Weds-off

Thursday-stairs at work for about 20 minutes

Friday- off

Saturday-off

Next week I am going to try waking up earlier to get on the treadmill for some extra cardio.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

