December Challenge

I don’t know about you all, but I am still REELING from Thanksgiving. Well…Thanksgiving dinner and then Friday night dinner which was really leftovers that we made into open face turkey sandwiches with homemade bread, turkey, and gravy over the whole thing, with a side of stuffing and mashed potatoes. Yowza…It was a doozy. I went to bed so stuffed again last night, that I decided it is time for my annual “I gotta eat better” challenge. Let me explain.

Every Thanksgiving, I tend to overdo it with the food. I mean, really, you only get the goodies once a year. But, inevitably, I always go to bed stuffed to the gills. This usually coincides with the weather getting colder and me going into hibernation mode. If I’m not careful, I will stay in hibernation mode until March or April and gain about 30 pounds. So, every December 1st, I usually set a goal to myself that I am going to tone down the eating over the December month. I will eat some sweets, but will limit it to the ones that I really enjoy. I will not overdo it on Christmas. I will also exercise 4-5 times weekly at least. This is always the struggle for me since I HATE the cold weather.

Yesterday Nathan was off to work a little Saturday overtime. I woke up still little bloated from last nights dinner. So, Harley and I got a jump on our little challenge early. He was pretty stir crazy yesterda morning and kept whining at me to go outside. He is aware of our need to get a little exercise as well. So, I put on every article of clothing I had and off we went into the 25 degree blowing wind. We ended up running as fast as I could for as long as I could, and then alternating with walking until I caught my breath. That went on for about 25 minutes until my face was so cold I decided I had to call it a day.

Harley loved it.

Then he begged me to throw treats out in the yard (it’s a thing we do…I want him to fetch but he won’t fetch things like balls or sticks, so I throw treats and he finds them, it’s fine…).

Throw it, just do it!

So, who’s with me?  Every week I will check in and let you know how it is going so that I will be held accountable. You can also check into the comments and let me know how you are doing as well. Good luck!

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley, Winter, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

