The weekend before…

Hi all. I just dropped by to say a quick hello before heading off to bed. This weekend has been such a busy weekend. I didn’t even get a chance to take one picture the entire week. Can you believe it!

On Friday, I got out of work just a little late, which for a Friday is a miracle.  I ended up having a killer headache, so I stopped by the pizza place, got pizza and breadsticks which Nathan and I devoured, and sat in my chair. I took an Excedrin and hoped for the best. Two hours later, my headache was still there, so I took another Excedrin and called it a night. The good news is my headache went away, but due to all the caffeine in the Excedrin, I was up all night. At about 3am I finally got to sleep, only to wake up at 7am. I used the extra time to clean the kitchen and do a load of dishes in the dishwasher. On Saturday,  I planned a menu for Thanksgiving since I am hosting this year.

I like to cook and host dinner parties, so when my mother in law said that she didn’t want to cook for all the holidays this year, I gladly pitched in. I have cooked Christmas dinner for the family before, and I have hosted “puppy parties” where I get all my friends together, their dogs and I cook dinner, but I have never cooked a turkey. So, Saturday was my time to do some research. Here is what I learned:

You can cook the turkey in the bag or out of the bag. If you cook the turkey out of the bag, then you have to baste the turkey…every half hour….then entire time it cooks. I think I will use the bag.

Some people cook the turkey upside down so the breast is on the bottom.

The turkey has to “rest” after it comes out of the oven for about 20 minutes. Then you can carve it.

Cooking a turkey is not as hard as it sounds. There are videos available on the internet to walk you through the entire process if needed. What did we do before the internet?!

So, this morning Nathan and I woke up bright and early and went to the store. We bought a 19 pound turkey, which seems like a lot for just 8 people, but Nathans mother assures me that is what they normally cook every year. No wonder we all get leftovers to take home!!

Today I spent the entire day doing a dry run of some recipes that I have not cooked before. Today I made chicken salad for work lunches for the week which I have been promising to make for Nathan for 2 months. I also made cornbread stuffing which we ate with chicken breast, cranberry sauce, and soup for dinner which we had to save for later because we were so stuffed from lunch we ended up not eating it. All I can say is that Thanksgiving is going to be a good day!!

I hope you all have a great week and are able to spend time with all the people you love.

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

