Happy Halloween!

Halloween is winding down and I wanted to just check in and see how everyone did. I was pleasantly surprised with the number of children we had coming to our door. Even though I don’t have children, I like to see what the kids are dressing up as. Normally we have quite a few children coming to our door. So much so, than we tend to sit outside on the doorstep so we don’t have to keep running to the door all night. “Sandy” did not visit us but we did have high winds and cold rainy weather for the last several days. Halloween night turned out to be slightly cold (40 degrees) but at least it didn’t rain on the kids.

Harley waiting for the kids to come…not yet.

 

We were sort of late this year with our decorating. I realized that we did not carve pumpkins this year, so on Tuesday (the day BEFORE Halloween mind you), I went to all the grocery stores in Cedar Springs (we have 2). They did not have one pumpkin to carve. I came home bummed out until I remembered that I live in the boonies, and probably could just find a farmer with a pumpkin patch. So, Harley and I set out for a drive. About a mile from our house, we happened upon a house that had pumpkins and squash for sale. I love the country! We got three large pumpkins perfect for carving for 2 dollars. Perfect!!  Then, Nathan and I started working.

Harley kept a close eye on the shenanigans.

I think we did a great job. I started off trying to carve a dog, but ended up jumping ship and settling for a face. Sort of worked out I guess. I always have much bigger aspirations than I am actually capable of. At least my goals are high.  Harley does not seem to thrilled with them though.

 

I’m not sure I like these things!!

 

Tonight, Halloween night, I came home right after work, picked up my absentee ballot for the elections since I will be out of town on election day, and started cooking. I had wanted to make these banana muffins. I made a double batch and left out the chocolate chip cookies. They were excellent!  I have made them with chocolate chips in them before, but honestly, they don’t need them. And, I didn’t think we would want to add chocolate since we were chowing on Halloween candy.  Now, we are stuck with a whole bowl of candy left over. I even gave the kids handfuls of candy at the end trying to get rid of it.

When do I get my candy?

My motto is that I can eat as much candy as I want the day we carve pumpkins, and for the day of Halloween. Then, I have to give away the candy the day after Halloween so I won’t be tempted to eat it all. If it is in the house, it becomes dangerous for me!

I hope everyone stayed safe during the storms, and is enjoying Halloween. What do you do with your left over candy?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in fall, Harley and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

