Yoga and Sharing

I have been doing Yoga for the last three days and I am already seeing a difference. It is funny how tight your muscles are at first, and how quickly you can loosen up. My first session was a 30 minute video from Giaim TV. This is a website that you can pay 10 dollars per month and you have access to many videos. In my mind I feel like I am doing every pose correctly and gracefully…until the hubs comes in and shatters my illusions.

It is very sad. The first session Harley cried to come into the office where I had my mat laid out. He proceeded to nap with his head on the corner of my mat. Then, when I started to get tired during the session, he gave me the added boost of trying to lick my face and arms. Let me tell you….nothing facilitates relaxation more than soggy dog kisses on your face when you are trying to concentrate. It was very comical and definitely didn’t let me take myself too seriously.

Yesterday I was a little sore and tight all day, so I didn’t to an actually do a session, but while the presidential debates were going on, I was stretching and down-dogging. Again, not really relaxing but I felt great before I went to bed. It was just what I needed because today I woke up early, energized and ready for a fun-filled day at work. I am going to keep on this yoga train for sure. Now I just need it to stop raining so Harley and I can get some cardio in.

I was watching Harley today with his toys and he is the cutest boy. Every night he goes through his toy box and gives both Nathan and I a toy to hold on our laps. He doesn’t want to play with them, he just wants us to hold them. If you throw them to let him fetch, he just slowly gets the toy and holds in his mouth and looks at you until you take it from him, then he lays down for the night. Nathan gives him a raw-hide bone every night and he makes sure to “thank” him by giving him kisses and running around the house. Even though he is so excited, if you hold out your hand to take it from him, he will slowly drop it in your hand and wait until you give it back. Imagine doing that in your own life. Imagine looking forward to something so much, and you wait for it all day. Then you finally get it, and someone immediately comes over and wants to take your brand new possession…and you give it without a thought. Amazing.

I am trying to do this in my life. I am not proud, but I have been known to hoard. Nothing big…canned foods…tomato plants…cake…whatever. No judging..From now on, I am going to try to be better at being selfless.

And now, just to brighten your day…How can you not laugh at this!

What do you hoard?

About Save the Treats for the Dog

Hi. My name is April. I am a runner, want to be photographer, and lover of all things dog. This is my space where I can keep track of all the Labrador antics as well as hopefully still maintain some semblance of a healthy lifestyle. Please come in and stay awhile
This entry was posted in Harley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

